From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
RefWorks
Journal Article Databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic. The interdisciplinary nature of bioinformatics will require the use of a variety of discipline-specific databases. The following are those used most frequently. Databases outside of the Library's collection are also commonly used, including the public access and commercial databanks and genomic files, listed separately under another tab on this page.
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. (Coverage: 1970 --)
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Adds citation indexing to BIOSIS content and is a thorough reference database for life sciences. Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological and medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Traditional areas such as botany, zoology, microbiology, as well as related fields like biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology are covered. Interdisciplinary fields like medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology are also included. (Coverage: 1926 --)
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Iincludes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. (Coverage: 1946 --)
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users).
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Allows researchers to quickly find and evaluate protocols and methods in the life sciences. Covers the content from the entire Springer Nature Protocols and Methods portfolio: Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, Springer Protocols, and Protocol Exchange.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. - Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The full-text of many articles is available. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books. Also includes publications from select publishers and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Subject Guide
