Related Guides
RefWorks
Useful Resources
The Scientist's Guide to Writing by
A concise and accessible primer on the scientific writer's craft The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing provides practical advice to help scientists become more effective writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact.
Call Number: eBook (JSTOR)ISBN: 9781400881147Publication Date: 2016-04-12
How to Write a Good Scientific Paper by
This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published.
Call Number: Open Access from SPIE Digital LibraryISBN: 9781510619142Publication Date: 2018
Writing Science: How to Write Papers That Get Cited and Proposals That Get Funded by
Writing Science is built upon the idea that successful science writing tells a story. The book takes an integrated approach, using the principles of story structure to discuss every aspect of successful science writing, from the overall structure of a paper or proposal to individual sections, paragraphs, sentences, and words.
Call Number: Ebook CentralISBN: 9780199909513
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by
An essential guide for succeeding in today's competitive environment, this book provides beginning scientists and experienced researchers with practical advice on writing about their work and getting published. This brand new, updated edition also includes a new chapter on editing one's own work, a section on publicizing and archiving one's paper, and updates on authorship, including information on new authorship criteria and on the author identification number ORCID. The book guides readers through the processes involved in writing for and publishing in scientific journals, from choosing a suitable journal, to writing each part of the paper, to submitting the paper and responding to peer review, through checking the proofs. It covers ethical issues in scientific publishing, explains rights and permissions, and discusses writing grant proposals, giving presentations and writing for general audiences.
Call Number: T11 .D33 2017ISBN: 9781316640432Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Academic and Scientific Poster Presentation by
This book offers the first comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences.
Call Number: SpringerLink eBook (2017)ISBN: 9783319612782
Scientific English by
The book is organized around a basic guide to English grammar that is specifically tailored to the needs of scientists, science writers, science educators, and science students. The authors explain the goals of scientific writing, the role of style, and the various kinds of writing in the sciences, then provide a basic guide to the fundamentals of English and address problem areas such as redundancies, abbreviations and acronyms, jargon, and foreign terms. Email, online publishing, blogs, and writing for the Web are covered as well.
Call Number: REF PE1475 .D38 2011ISBN: 9780313391736Publication Date: 2011
Driving Science Information Discovery in the Digital Age by
Driving Science Information Discovery in the Digital Age examines the discovery of scientific information from three different, but intertwined, perspectives: Discovering, managing, and using information (Information seeker perspective) Publishing, disseminating, and making information discoverable (Publisher perspective) Creating, spreading, and promoting information (Author perspective).
Call Number: ScienceDirect eBook (2021)ISBN: 9780128237243
- Writing Guidelines for Engineering and ScienceMichael Alley (Penn State) provides these guidelines containing advice and models for writing documents in engineering and science. These guidelines also contain teaching and learning resources for engineering and science students.
- Grammar, Punctuation, and Capitalization (pdf)Grammar, Punctuation, and Capitalization: A Handbook for Technical Writers and Editors, by Mary K. McCaskill (Washington, DC: NASA, Office of Management) 1990. Available through the NASA Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program under Tools.at https://www.sti.nasa.gov/
A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by
The 9th edition of "A Short Guide to Writing about Biology" provides tools to strengthen student writing and reinforce critical thinking.
It emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and refining ideas: students learn to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and communicate with clarity.
Call Number: QH304 .P43 2016ISBN: 9780321984258Publication Date: 2015-01-07
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
Providing practical advice to students on how to write for biology, this book shows how to write for a particular audience, self evaluate drafts, and paraphrase for improved comprehension.
Call Number: QH304 .K59 2013ISBN: 9781464150760Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Getting Published in the Life Sciences by
The goal of this book is to make it easier for scientists, especially those new to scientific writing, to write about their results and to get their manuscripts accepted in peer-reviewed journals. The book covers each step throughout the submission process, from organizing and outlining the manuscript, presenting statistical data and results, to what happens during the in-house manuscript review process and what to do if an article is initially rejected. In addition to providing practical exercises on these topics, the book focuses on helping writers distill their research into concise take-home messages for readers, in order to convey information as clearly as possible to the target audience.
Call Number: QH304 .G53 2011ISBN: 9781118017166Publication Date: 2011-08-30
Scientific Style and Format by
Provides authoritative recommendations on writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
The ACS Style Guide by
Third Edition - provides insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. Definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: Print and eBook version availableISBN: 9780841239999Publication Date: 2006-07-20
- Citing Medicine (National Library of Medicine)
Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides instructions and examples for formatting bibliographic citations for different types of published and unpublished materials. These materials range from traditional journal articles and books to electronic formats such as online journals, Web pages, and blog posts. Citing Medicine does not provide in-text citation styles.
If you have the DOI name (e.g., 10.1000/xyz123) of an article, type or paste it into the text box and click Go. Your browser will take you to a Web page (URL) associated with that DOI name.
- Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool - free online resource from CAS
Intended to support researchers and librarians, this tool can be used to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. Search by Title, Abbreviation, CODEN, ISBN, or ISSN.
- Periodical Title Abbreviations - Gale Research Co.
Print book covering periodical title abbreviations in science, the social sciences, the humanities, law, medicine, religion, library science, engineering, education, business, art and many other fields. Morris Library Reference section - Z6945 .A2 P47
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from many thousands of scholarly and technical journals.
Advantages of using a citation management tool
With a citation management system, you will be able to:
- export references from databases
- organize references
- store articles
- add personal notes about the references
- share folders
- format citations and reference lists in hundreds of citation styles
- insert properly formatted in-text citations (or footnotes) and reference lists (or bibliographies or works cited lists) in your documents.
RefWorks is the software licensed by the Library, but there are other options, such as Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote. Visit the Citation Management Tools guide for more information.