Provides open access to research articles published in developing countries. By providing a platform for the distribution of peer-reviewed journals (currently from Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, India, Iran, Kenya, Malaysia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Turkey, Uganda and Venezuela), BI helps to reduce the global knowledge divide by making bioscience information generated in these countries available to the international research community world-wide.
This library is a public and easily accessible resource database of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
The National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) is the driving force for advancing genomics research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the largest biomedical research agency in the world.
The Genomic Science Program’s (GSP) overall research goal is to provide the necessary fundamental science to understand, predict, manipulate, and design biological systems that underpin innovations for bioenergy and bioproduct production and to enhance our understanding of natural, DOE-relevant environmental processes. GSP is part of the Biological Systems Science Division (BSSD) within the U.S. Department of Energy’s Biological and Environmental Research (BER) Program.
A public database of paleontological data that anyone can use, maintained by an international non-governmental group of paleontologists. [Note: website says database is currently undergoing a major renovation. Last accessed 28 Nov. 2022]
The Tree of Life Web Project is a collection of information about biodiversity compiled collaboratively by hundreds of expert and amateur contributors. Its goal is to contain a page with pictures, text, and other information for every species and for each group of organisms, living or extinct. The project began in 1995, but the site has not been updated since 2011, although the pages remain accessible.
From the Academies long involvement in educational activities and publications on many aspects of evolution, this site provides a collection of information and resources on Evolution and Society, Science and Religion, and definitions and publications (articles, research papers, statements).
Understanding Evolution (UE) is a non-commercial, education website, for teaching and learning about the science of evolutionary biology. This site is a project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology (UCMP).
This database provides data from searches on mitochondrial and human nuclear-encoded proteins involved in mitochondrial biogenesis and function. NOTE: Site is undergoing extensive maintenance. [09/14/2022]
RCSB PDB (Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics PDB) is the US data center for the global Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive of 3D structure data for large biological molecules (proteins, DNA, and RNA) essential for research and education in fundamental biology, health, energy, and biotechnology.
An open chemistry database, PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
CCTE provides solutions-driven research to rapidly evaluate the potential human health and environmental risks due to exposures to environmental chemicals and ensure the integrity of the freshwater environment and its capacity to support human well-being.
As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
Associations and Societies
American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS)A nonprofit scientific association dedicated to advancing biological research and education for the welfare of society, AIBS works to ensure that the public, legislators, funders, and the community of biologists have access to and use information that will guide them in making informed decisions about matters that require biological knowledge.
American Society of Cell BiologyASCB is an inclusive, international community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life. We are dedicated to advancing scientific discovery, advocating sound research policies, improving education, promoting professional development, and increasing diversity in the scientific workforce.
American Society for Microbiology (ASM)ASM is the largest single life science society, composed of over 50,000 scientists and health professionals. ASM's mission is to promote and advance the microbial sciences.
Royal Society of Biology (UK)A single unified voice for biology: advising Government and influencing policy; advancing education and professional development; encouraging public interest in the life sciences. Individual members include practicing scientists, students at all levels, professionals in academia, industry and education, and non-professionals with an interest in biology.