Research Guides: Mathematical Sciences: Dissertations and Theses

University of Delaware Dissertations

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

The University of Delaware began granting doctoral degrees in 1948. The Library has copies of or online access to all dissertations.

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new window
This database is a subset of the Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database and covers only UD theses. Collection is full text. Available free to University of Delaware faculty, students, and staff. Includes: University of Delaware dissertations, 1948 to present.
Includes:
- All University of Delaware dissertations: full text from 1948 to present.
- University of Delaware Master’s theses: full text from 1980 to the present. NOTE: Most UD master’s theses are not available in this database. This is NOT a complete collection of UD master’s theses.
- Winterthur Program in Early American Culture theses: full text 1970s to fall 2009
- Longwood Graduate Program in Public Horticulture theses: full text 2006 to present
Use the library catalog, DELCAT, to search for all print or microform copies of master’s theses 1980 – 2009 that are NOT available in Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware. For dissertations and theses from 2007 and later, it is possible, using Advanced Search, to limit by academic department.

UDSpace (Institutional Repository)
Available online, freely accessible, winter 2014 to present. Partial holdings, prior to winter 2014. The majority of the dissertations are located in the Office of Graduate and Professional Education "community."

DELCAT Discovery This link opens in a new window
Contains records for print and/or microfilm, 1948 to July 2005. Available for loan. Also contains records for July 2005 to present (not available for loan). Note: DELCAT Discovery does not have links to all online theses. Also check UDSpace and Dissertations & Theses @ UD.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Purchase from the ProQuest company.

Dissertation Express
Purchase from the ProQuest company using Dissertation Express, the free order interface.
PQDT Open
Available online, freely accessible. Theses are included in this database by choice of the author.
University Archives and Records Management
The University Archives Thesis Collection contains print copies of UD graduate theses from the early 20th century to mid-2005. Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally and University Archives does not have copies.
Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval. (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)

Dissertations and Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for doctoral dissertations and masters theses from the United States and Canada. Includes some doctoral dissertations and masters theses from around the world. Coverage is 1861 to present. The database is also called Dissertation Abstracts. Full text of non-UD theses may be purchased from ProQuest. Theses may be available for loan through the Interlibrary Loan service.
- Always check DELCAT Discovery to see if the Library has the thesis.
- See the database Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware (ProQuest) for theses from the University of Delaware.