Research Guides: Portuguese Language and Literature: Films

Films in the Library

Visit the Library's Film and Video Collection to view these films and many more.

The Sound of Rio : Brasileirinho
Call Number: DVD 10103
O estranho caso de Angélica = The strange case of Angelica
Call Number: DVD 10947
Mistérios de Lisboa
Call Number: DVD 11316
Byebye Brasil
Call Number: DVD 8356
Letters from Fontainhas : three films by Pedro Costa
Call Number: DVD 8370

Portuguese Language Films - More Resources

Cinemateca Brasileira

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Contains comprehensive television periodical indexing until 2000. TV-related articles from film periodicals continue to be indexed. (Coverage: 1972 --) See below for information about silent era film archives.
Also included is the Treasures from Film Archives dataset; a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world. It is conceived as a tool to aid the work of preservation and scholarly research, and provides brief identification information on over 40,500 works. Most records in this database describe films made before 1929, but there are also records for a few silent works produced during the sound era.

Latin American and Spanish Videos Freely Available on the Internet: A Guide to Web Resources

Finding Foreign Language Films

DELCAT Discovery is the best catalog to search if you are looking for feature films in a foreign language. Search with the keywords 'feature films', and use the search limiters along the left-hand side of the screen under 'Refine Your Search' and 'Language'. Select a language of interest, such as Chinese, Spanish, Arabic, etc. These searches can be further limited by 'Year'.