About the collection
The collection includes the history, culture, domestic, business, and social aspects of Delaware as documented in correspondence, manuscripts, legal documents, diaries, journals, account books and ledgers, maps, printed ephemera, family papers, business records, archival material, photographs and graphic materials, and miscellaneous items.
Read more on the Delaware Collection Focus page.
From the collection
This is greater Newark. Newark, Del.: League of Women Voters of Greater Newark, 1987
Select bibliographies
Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to Delaware. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on Delaware held in Special Collections.
Related online exhibitions
- A State Divided: Delaware During the Civil War (ONLINE EXHIBITION)
2011
Delaware was one of five border states—in addition to Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, and later West Virginia—slave states that remained in the Union but bordered states that joined the Confederacy, mirroring the complexity of states’ rights, slavery, and support for the Union cause.
Suggested searches
To locate materials in the print collection including books, periodicals, and some printed ephemera, search DELCAT by location in the Advanced Search option and limit your search to “Special Collections.”
Suggested search terms:
- Newark (Del.)--History
- New Castle (Del.)--History
- Delaware--History
- Delaware--Antiquities
- Excavations (Archaeology)--Delaware--New Castle County
- New Castle County (Del.)--Antiquities
- Newark (Del.)--Antiquities
- Historic buildings--Delaware--Newark.
- Architecture--Delaware--Newark.
- Newark (Del.)--Buildings, structures, etc.
- Newark (Del.)--Directories
- Newark (Del.)--Telephone directories
- Newark (Del.)--Telephone directories--Yellow pages--Periodicals
- New Castle County (Del.)--Maps
- Delaware--Maps
- Atlases--Delaware--New Castle County
Digital Collections
Delaware Notes Scanned copies of Delaware Notes, No. 1 (June 1923) - No. 34 (1961). Annual publication of a series of studies contributed by the faculty of the University of Delaware. The series ended in 1961. |
||
Delaware Postcard Collection Views of Delaware and nearby areas, representing both well-known Delaware buildings, monuments, and views, and small town life, including street scenes and domestic buildings. |
||
Digital Bibliography of Delaware Over 10,000 records of materials pertaining to Delaware or Delawareans. Drawn from two published bibliographies, the serial publication Delaware History, and Robert Fleck's personal and professional inventory. |
||
Historic Maps of Delaware & the Mid-Atlantic Region Maps of the 17th-20th centuries, including transportation, regional, municipal, manuscript, and historical maps; and nautical charts of Delaware Bay. |
||
History and Government of Delaware by John Munroe A 15 part series on the history and government of Delaware originally broadcast by WHYY TV, Wilmington, Delaware. |
||
Iron Hill Museum oral history recordings and transcripts The Iron Hill Museum oral history collection consists of 37 interviews (recorded on 58 audio-cassettes) documenting the history of the Iron Hill School #112C, which was one of the African American schools built in Delaware with funds provided by Pierre S. du Pont. Additional interviews in this collection document life in the Iron Hill community and nearby Pleasant Valley, as well as education provided in a few other Delaware schools in Hockessin, Milton, and Claymont. |
||
Willard Stewart WPA & HABS Photographs of Delaware Taken in in the 1930s, these photographs document Delaware businesses and industries, architecture, city and town life, parks, agriculture, and natural places in the 1930s. |
Highlights from the manuscript collection
MSS 130 Lewis Family Papers 1700-1931, bulk dates 1780-1860.
Personal and legal papers of Newark, Delaware, family. Of particular note are papers of Albert Gallatin Lewis (1798-1883) concerning land purchases in and around Newark.
MSS 145 Walsh, Grace Lloyd, Papers 1910-1992, bulk dates 1913- 1935, 1957-1970.
Personal and business papers of Wilmington businesswoman Grace Lloyd Walsh. Includes scrapbooks, photographs, and memorabilia from Wilmington High School, 1913; artwork from Walsh's freelance advertising business; material documenting her work as a chauffeur with the American Women's Voluntary Services during World War II; and advertising and records from Walsh's Wilmington shop which specialized in fine gifts.
Highlights from the print collection
Federal Writers Project. Delaware Records, 1936-1941. 50 Volumes. LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del. F164 .F47)
Delaware History. Wilmington, Del.: Historical Society of Delaware, Vol. 1, no.1 (Jan. 1946)- LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del. F161 .D47)
Cooch, Francis A. Little Known History of Newark, Delaware and its Environs. Newark, Del.: The Press of Kells, 1936. LOCATION: Morris Library - Special Collections (Del. F174 .N58 C65)