Communication Databases
Use library databases to find articles, statistics, and reports on a variety of topics.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals related to communication and mass media. Selected coverage of nearly 200 additional journals is also provided. This database includes full text for over 450 journals. In addition, CMMC features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. - Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historical images from the Associated Press digital image archive. The historical collection features historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and celebrities. The Photo Archive also offers images from significant news and features events of the 20th century.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion data from The Roper Center. iPOLL is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US. Major survey organizations in social and political research in the United States are represented in iPOLL. Among them are The Gallup Organization, The Roper Organization, the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News, the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington Post, and the Associated Press.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowOffers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, including news agencies, newspapers, and radio and television stations. WNC obtains information from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. It covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Databases of Interest
Articles on topics such as business communication, interpersonal communication, and intercultural communication can also be found in many of the subject-specific databases subscribed to by the Library.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --)
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
An annual publication by Clarivate Analytics that analyzes, compares, and ranks scholarly and technical journals tracked in the Web of Science. Coverage includes virtually all disciplines in the areas of science, social sciences, and humanities. The report contains data on the citation performance of academic journals indexed in Web of Science, including information on the number of articles published, the number of times articles have been cited, the journal impact factor, and other citation metrics. JCR is a trusted source for finding journal ranking but it does not cover all journals. (Coverage: 1997 --)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of published literature on social work, human services and related areas. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
All Library Databases
The Library subscribes to over 300 databases that provide articles, statistics, images, and more. Explore the Library databases as you conduct your research.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UD ID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.
RefWorks: Citation Tool
Use RefWorks to save citations and create a bibliography and footnotes in seconds!
Learn about RefWorks through Library Workshops or the RefWorks @UD Guide.