Research Guides: Constitution Day 2022: The Supreme Court: Supreme Court

Finding Resources

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
Provides indexing of academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide related to criminal justice and criminology. The database also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database consists of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Currently available are the complete digitized back files of over 1000 scholarly journals, organized in various “collections.” The “law collection” provides high quality journals that serve researchers and students in fields that rely on law journals to support their research.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. Includes public policy literature in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish—periodicals, books, and government documents.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the world’s literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. The database includes abstracts of journal articles selected from over 1,700 serial publications, abstracts of conference papers presented at various sociological association meetings, relevant dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, enhanced bibliographic citations of book reviews, and abstracts of selected sociology books.
Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content. Crosswords are not included in this NYTimes.com Group Pass subscription.
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content.
Washington Post Online This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (often referred to as TWP or WaPo) covers national and global news, politics and national security, business and technology, arts and entertainment, sports, and local and regional news. Sections include a range of topical areas — education, climate and environment, science, health, immigration, and more. TWP‘s investigative journalists cover a range of issues of national and international importance, and opinion columnists focus on politics, economics, culture, international news and other topics.

Newspapers
by Kaitlyn Tanis Last Updated Mar 29, 2024 430 views this year

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
Provides indexing of academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents.
Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated & made available.

Law Library of Congress
Congress established its Law Library in 1832, recognizing its need for ready access to reliable legal materials. The Law Library has grown over the years to become the world’s largest law library, with a collection of over 2.9 million volumes spanning the ages and covering virtually every jurisdiction in the world. It also has a rich digital collections on a variety of topics.
The Oyez Project - United States Supreme Court Media
The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since October 1955.
SCOTUS Blog
A blog run by the Supreme Court of the United States that shows what is on the docket for the day, write-ups of cases and reactions from the Justices, and a link to the SCOTUS podcast.
Supreme Court of the United States
U.S. Court Records
Provides access to PACER (court database), federal courts records, and more.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
Includes:
- Current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wires, and trade journals.
- Company Investigator, an authoritative source for researching and gaining insight on more than 30 million public and private companies.
- Topical categories to refine searches and obtain more precise results.
- Expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, and treatises.
- Full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
- Integrated research tools, such as template searching, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System®, KeyCite®, and hypertext linking to related documents.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

Congress.gov
The website for U.S. government legislative information. Provides information on how the legislative process works. Has a section "Featured Topics and Cases" which lists court cases that relate to the Constitution.
FindLaw
One of the best sources for beginning legal research. Full text law reviews, Supreme Court opinions, federal case law, state court opinions, foreign and international resources, legal forms, and more are available via FindLaw.
Justia
Justia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. They are focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The site provides access to free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community.