RefWorks
RefWorks Tutorials
Research Methods
A cross-disciplinary research methods tool providing full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, and specific research methods.
Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, & other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords & people, & discover more in-depth books & articles. Images, audio & video files are included. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting & analysis on “hot topics” in the news. Each single-themed report is researched & written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted & professionally fact checked. (Coverage: 1923 --)
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The pros and cons of today's hottest social issues. Supports science, social studies, current events, & language arts classes. Allows 5 concurrent users.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice & criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing & abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, & investigation. (Coverage 1968 --) - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology & related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --) - NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resources on criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts covering the world's scholarly literature relating to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. - Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThis resource brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in magazines, journals, books, and more in the areas of family science, human ecology, and human development. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. - Black Studies Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals, with citations and abstracts from many other periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present. - LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in journals, chapters in books, dissertations, and other resources in psychology and the socal sciences. - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary combination of nine important files, drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals & other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts & transcripts from NPR & CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --) - General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals & magazine on a wide range of topics. Also includes reference, newspaper, & audio content such as the full text of New York Times articles from 1995 to the present, & audio files & transcripts of National Public Radio (NPR) programs from 1990 to the present. (Coverage: 1980 --) - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text backfiles of scholarly journals in African American studies, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics.
- Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A component of the Web of Science (ISI Databases), which provides access to scholarly literature and offers the searching of cited authors or cited works. - Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to popular periodicals from 1890 to 1982.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowIndex to United States government publications cataloged by the Government Printing Office.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowLargest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive access to United States legislative information
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
- Legislative Responses for Policing-State Bill Tracking DatabaseThe National Conference of State Legislatures provides you with information on law enforcement legislation that has been introduced in the 50 states and the District of Columbia. The database contains policing bills and executive orders.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowRecent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia.
(Coverage: 1980 --) - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, & legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations & more.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowTranslated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Check the Newspapers LibGuide for more resources
MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun Violence
- MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun ViolenceA selection of recent scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on gun violence, its effect throughout the culture, and its possible solutions.