Skip to main content

Using DELCAT Discovery

DELCAT Discovery

DELCAT Discovery...

  • Is the main gateway to the University of Delaware Library's print and electronic collections.
  • Includes information about the collections of libraries around the world.
  • Aims to connect you to a wide variety of relevant content in all formats, including books, journals, articles, DVDs and films, microforms, and more.

Use DELCAT Discovery to...

  • Find out if the University of Delaware Library has a particular book, film, or journal.
  • Locate a variety of materials, including books, articles, and film and video, related to a research topic.
  • Look up items that have been placed on Course Reserves for a class.
  • Request a print book to pick up at the Circulation and Reserve Desk using Get This For Me!
  • Sign in to your Library Account to view your checkouts and renew books.

DELCAT Discovery includes...

  • Records of the University of Delaware Library's book, journal, film and video collections in either physical or electronic formats.
  • Records of articles from multiple databases to which the Library subscribes.
  • Information about the collections of libraries around the world.
  • "View full text" and "View eBook" links directly to an article or ebook, when available. 
  • A "Get This For Me!" link to request a book from the Library's circulating collections or from Interlibrary Loan.

For those wishing to get a sense of a topic for the first time, or for those conducting exhaustive research, DELCAT Discovery provides a particularly valuable starting point.

What is not included?

DELCAT Discovery does not index all of the databases to which the library subscribes. Use the full list of Databases and the Research Guides to find links to more resources and to perform more precise, subject-specific searches.

Additionally, rare books and manuscript items held by the UD Library, Museums and Press are not are not fully cataloged in this resource. Contact the Special Collections department or Museums to learn more about the unique, local collections that exist at the University of Delaware.

The New DELCAT Discovery (https://delcat.on.worldcat.org/)

As the previous version of DELCAT Discovery has been discontinued, UD Library moved to an updated version on July 24, 2019.

 

Split Display

One of the most prominent features of the new DELCAT Discovery interface is the persistent display of the results list as users explore detailed records for individual items. Instructions for displaying individual detailed records are provided in this document.

DELCAT Discovery split interface

 

Library Account Access

The new DELCAT Discovery offers single sign-in access to both your library account and enhanced features like personal lists and saved searches. Simply sign in with your UD ID or username and password. (Need to access personal lists created with a WorldCat account before the transition? Please follow the instructions on page 6 of this document.)

DELCAT Discovery Sign In button

 

Links to Course Reserves and Chat

Note the links to Course Reserves and Chat with a Librarian in the page header (pictured above). These are available on any screen within the new DELCAT Discovery.

 

Search Options

DELCAT Discovery search tools and selected filters
Group Related Editions

Need to find a particular version of a book or film? Uncheck this option to reveal additional editions and formats held by University of Delaware Library and libraries worldwide.

 

Keep Selections for Next Search

After you've chosen search filters from the left side of the results screen, look for this option and check the box to keep the same filters in place for your next or revised search.

 

Browse the Shelf

Because most call numbers are assigned based on the subject of a book’s contents, browsing can be an effective way to identify additional materials related to a research topic. The new DELCAT Discovery allows you to browse virtually. See page 3 of this document for step-by-step instructions.

Browse the Shelf screen shot

 

Get This For Me!

In case you missed the announcement last spring, University of Delaware students, faculty, and staff can now click on the "Get This For Me!" button to request the books they need. If the Library owns the book and it's on the shelf, the book will be held at the Circulation and Reserve service desk and the requester will be notified that it's available for pickup. If the book is not available, or if it's owned by another library, the request will be routed to Interlibrary Loan for fulfillment. More information about this service is available here.

Loading ...

How to Use DELCAT Discovery: Video Tutorials

An updated version of this video tutorial is coming soon! If you need more help in the meantime, please Ask the Library.

Loading ...