Electoral College
- What is the Electoral College: The National Archives and Records AdministrationThe Electoral College is a process, not a place. The Founding Fathers established it in the Constitution, in part, as a compromise between the election of the President by a vote in Congress and election of the President by a popular vote of qualified citizens.
- What is the Electoral College: Library of CongressIf you're a United States citizen, 18 years of age or older, you probably think you have the right to vote for presidential candidates in the national election. That's partially correct. When citizens cast their ballots for president in the popular vote, they elect a slate of electors. Electors then cast the votes that decide who becomes president of the United States. **Includes primary source sets!**
Find Historical Information on Elections
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowAmerica: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference contains millions of full-text, authoritative articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major academic areas. It is an excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic and will help to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
- A History of the Voting Rights Act: ACLUThe Voting Rights Act is a historic civil rights law that is meant to ensure that the right to vote is not denied on account of race or color.