302-831-4072
Researching in your Field
Use this guide to start your research. Remember that you can:
- Browse research guides to find more databases for your field
- Search for a database by name
- Contact a subject librarian
- Contact Lauren (lwallis@udel.edu)
- Use chat or text if you need immediate help
All Topics
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly journal articles or magazine and news articles about your topic.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowSearch for magazine articles about your topic. You will need to use the publication filter to choose sources such as The Economist, The New Yorker, The Atlantic, or Harper's.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles related to your topic. This database includes regional, national, and international newspapers, but you can use the publication filter to choose specific publications such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, or the Wall Street Journal.
Business, Marketing, and Economics
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new windowTrade publications, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, and other sources related to all areas of business, including marketing and economics
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new windowTrade publications, scholarly journal articles, and other sources related to business, marketing, and economics
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal articles, book citations, and other sources related to economics
Science, Engineering, and Medicine
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowMagazine articles and scholarly journal articles on health and wellness research
Additional Fields
Public Policy
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. (Coverage 1968 --)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
Education
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts as well as some full-text education journals. Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Also includes a collection of videos that provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
Media Studies
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 570 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more. Also includes full text for over 450 journals. (Coverage: 1915 --)
Linguistics
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Environmental Studies
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, food safety, and introductions to environmental disasters.
Database Tips
In most databases, these practices will help you get the best results:
- Do keyword searches using quotation marks and search connectors ("medical tourism" AND "health insurance")
- Once you find some sources, look at the subject terms listed in the database. These can help extend your search.
- Use the filter column to limit your results by publication date, source, and more.
- Use the Get it! button to access electronic full text or make an Interlibrary Loan request.
- Remember that you will need to try multiple searches! Contact a librarian when you need help.