Research Guides: German Language and Literature: Databases/Articles

UD Databases for German Language & Literature

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, and more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library and in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing, teaching of language, and history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --)
Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 authors and their works in all disciplines, all time periods, and from around the world.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Important primary source texts and translations in the history of philosophy and thought.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Provides insight into each of the world’s nearly 7,500 known languages — whether used daily by over a billion people or existing only as a memory of cultural heritage.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bilingual dictionaries for the following languages: Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
Also offers click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, and guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage.