Where to Search
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database is a great starting point for most HDFS topics. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on Sociological issues which are a large portion of topics covered in HDFS programs. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on psychology topics which are usually closely related to HDFS issues. - ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an education-focused database which you may want to try if your issue is closely related to school-settings or involves education professionals.
Search Tips
Searching in databases is a bit different from searching in Google Scholar.
Tip 1: Search with words, not ideas.
Our databases literally search for the string of letters you type in, so you may need to try a variety of terms to see which one will work. Any time you are searching a database, try to think flexibly about possible words to use for the search. Think about all the ways that an idea could be described, and make a list:
ex: domestic violence, intimate partner violence, interventions, treatment, education, support, etc.
Tip 2: Add one word or phrase at a time
We never know what words will work until we try them in a database. Build your search with a broad term and add more focused terms one at a time. Check your search results after each change to see how it affected the number and type of articles that are appearing. If a word doesn't work, try another or Ask a Librarian for terminology suggestions!
Tip 3: Switch databases
If you're not finding anything in one database, switch to another! There is no such thing as a database that has everything. Even google only has items that are both free and in digital formats. You will likely need 2-3 databases for any topic you choose.