Research Guides: HIST135: Introduction to Latin America: Newspapers

Newspaper Sources

Current Newspapers
Historical Newspapers

List of BBC News
BBC is accessible through Global Newsstream.
Al Jazeera
El Pais

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. It is a collection of more than 700,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives often at variance with the mainstream media.
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are included. This database has access to BBC.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
You need to create an account in order to read current articles. Follow this link for detailed instructions.
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Recent Newspapers at the University of Delaware offer searchable, full text access to 7 major U.S. newspapers. Coverage begins in the late 2000s and goes through the most recent issue with a 3-month embargo.
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
You need to create an account in order to read current articles. Follow the link for detailed instructions.
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.
Washington Post Online This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post (often referred to as TWP or WaPo) covers national and global news, politics and national security, business and technology, arts and entertainment, sports, and local and regional news. Sections include a range of topical areas — education, climate and environment, science, health, immigration, and more. TWP‘s investigative journalists cover a range of issues of national and international importance, and opinion columnists focus on politics, economics, culture, international news and other topics. The Washington Post Online includes multimedia resources only available in the online edition and access to content published in real-time. Updates are continually added throughout the day.
Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.
Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:
- 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
- 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Washington Post

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America’s Historical Newspapers features cover-to-cover reproductions of historic newspapers. The first series of this collection is based largely on Clarence Brigham’s History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States—the story of its people, ideals, commerce, and everyday life.
Latin American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
More than 35 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Titles are from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Part of the World Newspaper Archive, which can be found on the A-Z Databases page.
This collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers at the University of Delaware offer searchable, full text access to 6 major U.S. newspapers, 1 regional U.S. newspaper, 1 international newspaper, and 7 Black newspapers from the U.S. Has news articles on Latin American countries.
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.
Titles Included:
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-9 years ago)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-9 years ago)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-5 years ago)
- The News Journal (Wilmington, DE) (1871-2009)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1946-2010)
- The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
- The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-17 years ago)
- The Washington Post (1877-17 years ago)