HIST268: Immigration and Identity

Amateur publications written, edited, and published primarily by young people aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century. (Coverage: 1801-1900)

Documents the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th century. (Coverage: 1684-1923)

A view of the inner workings of the ACLU and the hundreds of groups with which the organization interacted. (Coverage 1912-1990)

Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)

Digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th c. Provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL). (Coverage: 1741-2005)

Materials related to the history of protests in America from the 1700s through the 1920s. Topics include colonial exploitation and revolution, slavery and abolition, political rights and suffrage, economic and industrial disturbances. (Coverage: 1701-1928)

Explores the history of North American trade and cultural interactions with China. Coverage also includes Pacific trading centers such as Hawai‘i. (Coverage: early 18th – early 20th centuries)

Focuses on the long nineteenth century, a period of rapid evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems. Derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. (Coverage: 1790-1920) 

An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections.  Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)

An integrated platform that combines Gales digital newspaper archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 20 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 17th - 21st centuries)

Full-text digital database of Harper's Weekly, the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. (Coverage: 1857-1912)

A variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over 3 centuries. (Coverage: c1654-1954)

Full-text access to select major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspaper and Black newspapers from the U.S. (Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries)

Essential primary source material documenting key issues in race relations and civil rights during the 20th century. (Coverage: 1943-1970)

Perform a seamless search across all of the Readex digital collections available at the UD Library, or choose to combine only specific databases. By consolidating major digital collections and document types, Readex AllSearch enables users to make new and unexpected discoveries, whether on a desktop computer or any mobile device.

A multi-sourced collection that considers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II. Chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa and Asia. (Coverage: 1935-1950)

Part 1: Forced Migration and World War II

Part 2: The Early Cold War and Decolonization

House and Senate Documents and Reports, constituting a rich set of primary source documents. Covers a variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations, etc. (Coverage: 1817-1994)