HIST268: Restoration Britain

A multi-archive collection relating to major events in European maritime history. Focuses on western European explorers – British, French, Spanish, Portuguese and Dutch in particular – and their sea-faring voyages to locate “new lands,” trade routes, establish colonies and settlements, and advance scientific knowledge. (Coverage: c.1420-1920) 

Over 400 years of personal writings by women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Shows the various shapes and formats of the diary as it evolved. Allows researchers to view history in the context of women’s thoughts—their struggles, achievements, passions, pursuits, and desires. (Complements Alexander Street’s North American Women’s Letters and Diaries.) (Coverage: 1500s - 1950)

Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels and other literary works. Consists of two collections: British Literary Manuscripts Online and British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance. (Coverage: c.1120-1900)

Provides access to the full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th c. to the early 20th c. (Coverage: 1680s-1930s)

Early work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere. (Coverage: 1470-1700)

Covers British imperial history, maritime trade, global commerce, and the history of the East India Company. The Company was an extraordinary force in global history for 3 centuries. This resource provides access to a vast collection of primary source documents held by the British Library. From the Company’s charter in 1600 to Indian independence in 1947, this collection tells the story of trade with the East, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire. (Coverage: 1549-1947)

Digital images of thousands of books, pamphlets and broadsides published during the 18th c. (Coverage: 1701-1800) For the earlier period, see Early English Books Online.

An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections.  Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)

Started by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s, this collection of monographs and periodicals reflects the evolution of a feminist consciousness and womens rights. By the time her successors finished their work in 1945, the collection was the greatest single source for the study of womens history in the world, with materials spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages. (Coverage: 1543-1945)

Victorian manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection, New York Public Library. Traces the genesis of some of the period’s greatest literary masterpieces through the unique manuscripts of their authors, many unavailable elsewhere. They are supplemented by rare printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. (Coverage: 19th century)

Offers literary scholars an opportunity to examine manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. (Coverage: 17th - 18th centuries)

Books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.  Includes many rare titles and 1st editions in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1450-1945)

Full-text, searchable archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. (Coverage: 1603 - early 1800s)