HIST337: Social Violence in America

Presents multiple aspects of the African American community via primary source material focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina

Resources for researching the past, present, and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

All volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK. Consists of original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. (Coverage: 1606-1822)

Focuses on the long nineteenth century, a period of rapid evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems. Derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. (Coverage: 1790-1920) 

An extensive collection of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life.

Archival collections focused on political extremism and radical thought. A broad assortment of political movements from both far-right and radical left political groups are covered. (Coverage: 17662010s)

Essential primary source material documenting key issues in race relations and civil rights during the 20th century. (Coverage: 1943-1970)

Explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the 19th to 21st centuries. Includes the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.