HIST400: US-China Relations

The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe. Features over 400 peer-reviewed entries, including both short definitional entries as well as discursive, essay-style articles on major topics and themes Coverage includes individual empires, people, events and ideas that shaped the imperial experience as well as comparative themes such as environment, slavery, law, and weaponry Reflects the recent resurgence of interest in this interdisciplinary and dynamic field of study, with newer approaches included alongside traditional topics.

The most exhaustive reference work available on this critical subject in world history, focusing on the politics, economy, culture, and society of both colonizers and colonized. "The history of the last 500 years is the history of imperialism," writes editor Melvin Page. In the Americas, as a result of imperialist conquest, disease, famine, and war nearly wiped out a population estimated in the tens of millions. Africa was devastated by the slave trade, an integral part of imperialism from the 1400s to the 1800s. In Asia, even though native populations survived, native political institutions were destroyed. Imperialism also forged the two most important ideologies of the last five centuries--racialism and modern nationalism. In more than 600 essays presented in this three-volume encyclopedia, Page and other leading scholars--historians, political scientists, economists, and sociologists--analyze the origins of imperialism, the many forms it took, and its impact worldwide. They also explore imperialism's bitter legacy: the gross inequities of global wealth and power that divide the former conquerors--primarily Europe, the United States, and Japan--from the people they conquered. 600 entries covering ideologies, religions, theory, geography, imperial nations, colonies, colonized regions, ethnic groups, individuals, and treaties Contributions from an international team of academic experts in history, political science, economics, sociology, and other social sciences A collection of documents representing each imperial power as well as primary sources relating to multiple empires and areas of the world to provide a deeper understanding of the processes of colonialism, which encompassed virtually the entire globe Extensive chronologies of various imperial empires (Austro-Hungarian, Belgian, British, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Ottoman, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Russian, and United States) provide context for the diverse entries

The overseas empires of Western Europe, including the US first as colony then as colonizer, is deemed here to have ended in the middle to late 20th century. Over 400 articles provide information about such aspects as economic concepts and ideas, explorations and migrations, industries, organizations and institutions, people and peoples, religions,

The Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies brings together the most wide-ranging and up-to-date scholarship ever assembled on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering the period from 1492 to the present. The first and only reference of its kind that treats colonial processes as global and millennial Close to 400 entries offer unprecedented coverage, exploring the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism from Las Casas to Gayatri Spivak Written by an international cast of leading scholars An essential reference for scholars in a broad range of fields, including world literature, anthropology, political science, sociology, gender, feminist and queer studies, history and history of science.

This comprehensive guide to the Pacific and South Asia provides detailed and enlightening information about the many ethnic groups of this increasingly important region of the world. Ideally suited for high school and undergraduate students studying subjects such as anthropology, geography, and social studies, Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific: An Encyclopedia provides clear, detailed, and up-to-date information on each major group in South Asian and Pacific Island countries, including India, Nepal, Indonesia, Pakistan, Singapore, Australia, Tonga, Samoa, and the Solomon Islands. Organized alphabetically by ethnic group, each entry provides an introduction followed by accessible descriptions of the origins, early history, cultural life, political life, and modern history of the ethnicity. Alternate names, major population centers, primary languages and religions, and other important characteristics of each group are also covered. Beyond being a valuable resource for student research, this book will be enlightening and entertaining for general readers interested in South Asia and the Pacific.