Using Databases
A library database is an electronic catalog or index used to locate articles and other research material. Some databases provide access to only abstracts (summaries of articles) and others will provide full-text of the actual article.
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off-campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
KAAP Databases
Use these databases to locate articles and other resources relevant for Kinesiology and Applied Physiology topics.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE and other related databases. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science interface provides online access to the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text literature for sports and sports medicine. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, physical therapy, exercise science and other sport studies. (Coverage: 1930 --)
- Comprehensive Physiology This link opens in a new window
An authoritative collection of physiology information that includes recently published review articles and an online version of the American Physiology Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology (1977-2008) book series.
- Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the literature of physical education, with links to full text. Includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered. - LWW Health Library - Physical Therapy This link opens in a new windowOnline textbooks with case descriptions, procedure videos, images, and lecture resources related to physical therapy.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Additional Databases
Use these additional databases to locate articles and other resources when conducting research in the Health Sciences.
- Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window“The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy online.” Primal Pictures features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and textual descriptions by leading specialists supplement the animations and models. Interactive learning modules covering basic human anatomy focus on one or more areas of the body, from a generalist’s or specialist’s perspective. Images are not mere drawings but are derived from real medic
- Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive mobile app that allows users to view and manipulate body systems, add layers, explore physiological features, and more. See below for activation and access information.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowNatural Medicines is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowOnline access to citations and abstracts for international dissertations and theses.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.
Clinical Trials.Gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
