Selecting Databases
Databases
Sometimes one database just works better for a topic than another. Below are some databases recommended for KAAP Research.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing and allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text literature for sports and sports medicine. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, physical therapy, exercise science and other sport studies. (Coverage: 1930 --)
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Finding Full Text
When you use a library search tool to find sources, there are a few different scenarios you might encounter when trying to get the full text.
- PDF Full Text or other full text link: Download the full text directly
- Get It button: Click to try to connect to electronic full text. If we do not have full text, you'll be taken to a page where you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. Watch this video to learn more about Get It.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL): If the library doesn't have a source you need, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll get it for you from another library. Watch this video to learn more about ILL.