Research Guides: LEAD101: Global Contexts for Leadership: Electronic Articles and Books

Finding News and Magazine Articles

Ethnic NewsWatch
Search for news articles from ethnic and minority publishers.
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Gale General OneFile
Search for any topic. Choose news or magazine articles in the filter at the top to explore these sources.
Global Newsstream
Find current reporting about your topic from US and international news publications. To find the most recent coverage of your topic, use the filter to sort by recent articles.
Nexis Uni
Use the guided search to search for news related to your country and global issue.

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
World News Connection Archive
Started in 1995 by providing access to materials from around the world, selected and translated into English by analysts from the U.S. Government’s domestic and overseas bureaus. Daily updates were sourced from newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports, and provided timely coverage of the latest socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Ultimately WNC grew to include over 500 news sources from over 130 countries. (Coverage: 1995-2013)

Daily updates were discontinued after December 31, 2013, but researchers can still access the Archive, which contains over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta, Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other locations around the world.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Use the following databases to find scholarly journal articles related to your topic. Begin by choosing a database related to your global issue, then search using keywords you've identified in your background research. Watch this quick video for an overview of how to access electronic full text. Note that you can also use these databases to find news and magazine articles related to your topic by selecting these source types in the filter column after searching.

Academic OneFile
Search for articles on any topic.
Anthropology Plus
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
Business Source Premier
Search for articles related to business issues.
GenderWatch
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)

Contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid-1970s. Additional archival material continues to be added.
GreenFILE
Search for articles related to environmental issues.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Search for articles related to health issues.
PAIS Index
Search for sources related to international relations and public policy.