Biographical Research
Edmund Kean as Shylock
Image Courtesy of the Folger Shakespeare Library, Picturing Shakespeare, Folgerpedia
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowThe ODNB is an illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
-
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowBy searching BGMI you can determine which publication to consult for biographical information.
-
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies, obituaries, and photographs. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations. Biographical subjects represent all fields and nationalities. (Coverage: antiquity --)
-
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers from around the world and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Selected Databases & Collections
-
JSTOR: Understanding ShakespeareConnects digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library with articles on JSTOR. "Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles on JSTOR that reference the line."
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe key database for literature research.
-
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new windowCitations to publications on English literature, with links to full-text articles, 1920-present.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowThe key database for American history scholarship.
-
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences, 1993-present.