Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Databases by Subject
Once you have a general understanding of your topic, searching in subject databases will help you find relevant, specialized sources that address specific facets of an interdisciplinary topic. You can start by browsing this list and selecting subject databases to search. To find databases on other topics, browse the full list of databases by subject.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the United States and Canada. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship, business news, company information. - Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and trade news in communications and mass media. - Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on issues in criminal justice. - Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on issues in all levels of education. - Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about human development, family relationships, and other social groups. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and news about topics related to gender. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship related to environmental issues. - Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about medicine, health, and wellness. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on literature and film. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about politics and public policy around the world. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship related to psychological issues. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about social issues. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about sports, sports medicine, and physical recreation.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be useful for finding scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports when you're having trouble choosing the right terms to find what you need in subject databases. As you know from using Google, you will get some fairly relevant results no matter what you enter into the search box.
So why do librarians recommend subject databases over Google Scholar?
- Subject databases come with detailed descriptions of the content included. Google does not.
- Subject databases reveal how search results are ranked in terms of their relevance. Google does not.
- Subject databases offer specialized features that help both beginning researchers (e.g., limiting by source type) and advanced researchers (e.g., discipline-specific search fields). Google does not.