Subject Guide
Research & Engagement Department
Need research help? To make an appointment, click the ribbon below.
Related Guides
MLA Guides
MLA Handbook by Call Number: Reference Collection LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06The MLA Handbook is used in English and other humanities disciplines.
- Works Cited: A Quick Guide (MLA Style Center)
This practical guide to works cited includes an introduction to its core elements, clear examples, and an interactive practice template for creating your own works cited entry. - MLA Handbook Chapter 1: Introduction to Formatting Your Research ProjectFree introductory chapter to formatting a research paper. Includes sections 1.0-1.16 of the MLA Handbook's first chapter.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1632/SNGR8997 - MLA Style Sample PapersDoes your research or term paper require MLA style? Use these examples to help you follow the proper guidelines.
- MLA Handbook Chapter 4.2–4.11: Avoiding PlagiarismA free chapter from the MLA style manual regarding how to avoid plagiarism in your work.
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1632/IRIL1204 - OWL Purdue: MLA Formatting and Style GuidePurdue University's Online Writing Lab provides a general introduction to the MLA formatting and style guide. Excellent resource for referencing MLA style.
Introducing the Elements
The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today.
The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them.