Databases at UD
- Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a vast database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960 (varies by source). Eight Centuries aggregates indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids, and includes citations to 9,000 periodicals. Dozens of historically significant indexes are searchable within this database. It offers multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences. - C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
C19 is a comprehensive index to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official publications, archives, and newspapers. It provides integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 16.3 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowEarly English Books Online contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 (STC I) and Donald Wing’s A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641 to 1700 (STC II). EEBO also includes the Thomason Tracts, a compendium of broadsides on the English Civil War printed between 1640 and 1661.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowECCO contains digital images of every page of more than 180,000 books published during the 18th century. A variety of materials are included — from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements—and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century. The collection is based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and more than 2,400 scholarly journals. The Government, Politics & Law package offers special collections on Criminal Justice in America, Religion and the Law, Women and the Law, Slavery in America and the World and more.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowThis online database includes all of the papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-1900 in all formats, including: Bills—e.g. abolition of slavery, electoral reform;
Reports of Royal Commissions—e.g. the poor, health, and sanitation;
Reports of Select Committees—e.g. mining and railway accidents;
Accounts and Papers—e.g. correspondence relative to the affairs of the British in North America;
Command Papers—(included within the Reports of Commissioners and Accounts and Papers)
