Plant and Soil Sciences

Collection of Open Educational Resources (OER) with materials related to plants, soils, and the environments where plants grow.

A collaborative project between the National Park Service and the University of Georgia Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health. The Atlas provides information about non-native plant species that invade natural areas, excluding agricultural and other developed lands.

A comprehensive guide to North American native plants in existence, with a free and searchable A database of information about more than 25,000 native plants, 80,000 plant images, answers to more than 10,000 plant and natural gardening questions and more. Hosted by the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

The Noble Research Institute Plant Image Gallery is designed to assist botanists, ecologists, natural resource managers, educators and hobbyist with the identification of plants commonly found in the southern Great Plains.

Convenient online glossary to lookup soil science terms provided by the SSSA. Check out the Publications tab and the About Soils section for additional information.

From the Penn State Soil Characterization Lab, find information to help understand soils and in conducting land-use decision making.

Open access file compiled by academic librarians to facilitate the discovery, management, preservation, access, and use of soil surveys. Use the inventory to identify relevant materials of coverage for a region of interest.

Find Programs and Initiatives for the State of Delaware on agricultural conservation, stewardship, or environmental quality.

NRCS helps America’s farmers, ranchers and forest landowners conserve the nation’s soil, water, air and other natural resources. Check out the Conservation Basics and Resources sections to find soil manuals, guides, handbooks, data and reports, as well as education and teaching materials.

Maintained by the Natural Resources Conservation Service, the PLANTS (Plant List of Attributes, Names, Taxonomy, and Symbols) Database provides standardized information about vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

NRCS offers technical and financial assistance to help producers plan and implement conservation practices that prevent soil erosion and degradation and improve soil health.

NRCS delivers science-based soil information to help farmers, ranchers, foresters, and other land managers effectively manage, conserve, and appraise their most valuable investment — the soil.