Review the Literature
After you develop your research questions, it's time to search the literature. Below are subject specific databases that are your best bets for finding articles about psychopathology.
First, build your search strategy.
- Use the rows to search for the multiple concepts of your research question.
- One each row, search for synonyms or related terms for each concept. Connect the synonyms with the word OR.
Second, use the database filters.
- Select "Peer Reviewed" to limit to scholarly articles
- In databases such as APA PsycINFO, use the age group filter to limit to research studies that include the population you're studying.
Scholarly Articles
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- PsychiatryOnline Premium This link opens in a new window
A collection of textbooks, journals, DSM-5 and professional development tools. Provides mental health professionals, students, faculty, and researchers with key resources in diagnosis, treatment, and research.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
