Librarian
Research and Engagement Department
Meet with me: https://calendly.com/alisonwessel/60min
Welcome! Use this guide to explore library resources to support your work in the SOCI209 Social Problems course.
Start with an Overview
Explore reference databases that give overviews of topics to learn more about some of these issues.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on “hot topics” in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. (Coverage: 1923 --)
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The pros and cons of today's hottest social issues. Supports science, social studies, current events, business, and language arts classes. Allows 5 concurrent users.
Search DELCAT
Search the library catalog, DELCAT, for books and articles about your topic.
Dive Deeper
Explore some subject databases to dive deeper into the scholarly literature on your topic.
Search Tips:
- Try a combination of search terms. Connect separate concepts with the word AND.
- homelessness AND "mental illness"
- teens AND loneliness
- Search multiple synonyms or related words using OR
- "harm reduction" OR "needle exchange"
- Use quotation marks around phrases to search those words together
- e.g. "pink tax"
- Download to full text of the article to save it later. For articles not in the library's collection, you can request a free copy through Interlibrary Loan.
- Use the CITE button to copy the citation for the article.
Subject Databases
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
-
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for womens studies and feminist research. A valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations, humanities.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)
-
Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.