Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Books on Special Education
For books, eBooks, video, and articles about special education topics from the UD library and international libraries, search DELCAT Discovery. Some of the following terms provide good starting points for special education-related topics:
- Special education
- Exceptional children
- Learning disabilities
- Children with disabilities - education
- Inclusive education
- Mainstreaming in education
The following call numbers cover some areas of special education:
|LC1200 - LC1203
|LC3950 - LC3990.4
|LC4704 - LC4706
|LC4717 - LC4719
||Autistic children - education
For information on searching for special education topics within articles and Journals, please see the Education Databases page.
Resources for Special Education Statistics
Here is a selection of online resources for special education-related statistics.
Welcome, Special Education Scholars!
This guide provides specialized information for researchers studying special education topics.
This is not a comprehensive guide, but can serve as a place to begin your research.
Please see the Education Research Guide for a more full list of education resources.
General Resources on Special Education Topics
Internet Resources on Special Education
Internet Resources for Special Education Instruction
What Works Clearinghouse
A central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education. Includes a searchable index of research-based interventions that address classroom challenges.
a searchable database of instructional and assistive technology tools, research, and online resources for students with disabilities
National Center on Response to Intervention
Provides a thorough introduction to response to intervention as well as webinars and tools for screening, monitoring progress, and instruction.
Special Education Resources for General Educators
information and professional development resources regarding addressing the needs of students who have disabilities. Includes a directory of organizations dealing with aspects of special education by category.
Council for Exceptional Children - Practice Alerts
Provides concise reviews of research on instruction in special education.
Resources for learning about and practicing universal design for learning.
International DO-IT Center (University of Washington)
Promotes the success of individuals with disabilities and the use of computer and networking technologies to increase their independence, productivity, and participation in education and careers.