Treaty Indexes
- An index to treaties currently in force to which the United States is a party
- Text of treaties available in United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST) and Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
- Arrangement: Bilateral (by country and subject) and Multilateral (by subject)
- Some full text of a Treaty will be published in the Congressional Record
- Note: if a listing refers to TIAS, but gives no number, the treaty has not been published
- For unpublished treaties and agreements, see Senate Treaty Documents, Senate Executive Reports, the Congressional Record, or call the Office of the Legal Advisor, Department of State, Washington, DC 20520; phone (202) 647-1345
Treaty Documents (congress.gov). Provides information on the status of treaties from 1968 (94th Cong) to present.
Treaty Collections
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowImage-based government document & legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents & treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, & presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, & all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- Avalon ProjectDocuments of law, history, and diplomacy from 4000 BCE to present day.
Microfilm:
- Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)Pamphlet or "slip" form of treaties. Expect 8-10 year time lag before publication.
- United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)* The official series for texts of United States Treaties
* Published annually since 1950
* Expect a 10-20 year time lag before publication
* Generally cited as UST
* Before publication in UST, treaties are available in TIAS - Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 (Bevans)This set includes the text of treaties from 1776 to 1949. It is the definitive series for United States treaties (meaning treaties to which the United States was a signatory.) Exception: text of the Treaty of Versailles is included, even though it was never ratified by the United States. Volume 13 is an index by subject and country. Generally cited as "Bevans," after its editor, Charles I. Bevans. Largely replaces two earlier sets of treaties: Treaty Series, 1908-1945, which the library does not own, and Executive Agreements Series, 1929-1945. 13 vols.
Treaties in Congressional Publications
- Senate Treaty Documents Series. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
- Location: Internet (via Congress.gov)
Location: Internet (via govinfo)
Location: Internet (via State Department Treaty Affairs) - Treaty documents (treaty doc) contain the text of treaties sent by the President for Senate ratification. Treaty documents are referred to the Committee on Foreign Relations. This series is important because it is often the first place a treaty is published. It is included in the United States Congressional Serial Set, beginning with the 97th Congress (1981). Prior to the 97th Congress, see Senate Executive Documents. Indexed by: ProQuest Congressional and Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP).
- Senate Executive Reports. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
- Location: Internet (via Congress.gov)
Location: Internet (via govinfo) - The Senate Committee on Foreign Relations report to the Senate, recommending whether the treaty should be ratified. Contains the text of the treaty. Senate Executive Reports are included in the Serial Set since the 97th Congress (1980).
- Senate Executive Documents. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
- Location: U.S. Congressional Serial Set Library Database
- Contain the text of treaties sent by the President for Senate ratification. Also known as Executive (Lettered) Documents because they are identified by letter. Beginning with the 97th Congress in 1981, Executive Documents are called Treaty Documents.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowImage-based government document & legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents & treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, & presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, & all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.