Research Guides: BUAD 444: Industry Research: Articles and News Sources

Articles and News Sources

Articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers can help you understand what’s happening in an industry right now. Use these sources to:

Track current trends and challenges
Find expert analysis and commentary
See real-world examples of business strategies in action

General Business Research Databases

These databases are very useful for researching general issues such as competitive analysis research, pricing, new product introduction, consumer issues, market strategies, market forecasts, etc.

ABI/INFORM
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
Business Source Premier
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
Gale Business Insights
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.

Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.
Mergent Intellect
Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and industry profiles.

Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.
Mergent Market Atlas
Access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data displays and reports.
Nexis Uni
Select "News", then Select " Business & Industry News"

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
Passport
You must be a current UD student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.

SWOT Analysis Research

Several databases include SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats).

Search by company or industry and then filter results to SWOT Analysis if the database provides that option.
If there isn’t a SWOT filter, use keywords like:
- "Coca-Cola AND SWOT"
- "automobile industry AND SWOT"

"SWOT Analysis in Freeform" by focal5 is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0 .

Databases that include SWOT analyses:

Business Source Premier
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
ABI/INFORM
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
Gale Business Insights
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.

Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.
Mergent Intellect
First Research industry reports often highlight key opportunities and challenges similar to SWOT insights.

Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.

Newspapers

Newspapers are a great way to find up-to-date information on companies, industries, and markets. They often cover emerging trends, policy changes, and local business activity that may not appear yet in academic journals or industry reports.

Global Newsstream
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
News Journal (Wilmington, DE)
Online edition of the News Journal (Wilmington, DE).
Does not include advertisements, graphic material, syndicated columns, or AP articles. Intended to include all articles written by staff, including obituaries and letters, etc., but sometimes this content is not supplied by the newspaper publisher.

The Library holds the News Journal and its predecessor titles on microfilm. Consult A Chronology of the Wilmington News Journal.
Newspapers.com World Collection (Library Edition)
Over 3,000 regional and local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries. (Coverage: early 1700s - early 2000s)
New York Times (NYTimes.com)
The New York Times Online includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition plus additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics and data. Crosswords not included. Content may also be accessed via the free New York Times app. Content not available via tablet. (Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present).
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Nexis Uni
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
Philadelphia Inquirer
Full text articles in the Philadelphia Inquirer from various sources. See below for options.
- America’s Historical Newspapers (11/17/1860 to 12/31/1922)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1860-2001)
- Global Newsstream (1983 to present) No graphics
- Nexus Uni (1994-present) No graphics
- Morris Library – Microfilm S 410 (1969 to present; some missing dates)
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com)
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.
Washington Post Online
Users who register for Washington Post accounts with email address domains @udel.edu will be able activate subscription access anywhere, on any device, 24/7, just by following the steps below or follow these instructions.
1. Visit https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup to sign-up with your @udel.edu email address
2. Click on your name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click Account Settings
4. Click the My Subscription tab
5. Click Activate free digital access
Click here to search: https://www.washingtonpost.com/subscribe/signup
Digital edition of The Washington Post. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.
Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:
- 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
- 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Washington Post