National Affiliate Library Research Guides
WorldCat Local is a global catalog of library collections.
Search this catalog to find the materials you need in the University of Delaware Library or a library near you.
Resources for Colored Conventions Research at the University of Delaware
Resources for Colored Conventions Research at the University of Delaware is designed to provide assistance to UD users of and instructors teaching units connected to Colored Conventions: Bringing Nineteenth-Century Black Organizing to Digital Life, a digital humanities project of the University of Delaware.
Another research guide, Resources for Colored Conventions Research: A Guide for National Affiliates and Public Use, is available online. This guide, created for users at other institutions, does not include hyperlinks to UD-subscription databases and University of Delaware Library call numbers for print material.
The two guides were developed for the Colored Conventions Project, directed by Gabrielle Foreman, Ned B. Allen Professor of English and Professor of Black American Studies, University of Delaware.
Resources for Colored Conventions Research at the University of Delaware offers information on a variety of resources. Please select a topic from the list or click a topic tab (above) to explore historical research related to the Colored Conventions.
- 19th-Century Newspapers: Search library databases and free websites for articles in historical newspapers of the nineteenth century
- Digital Image Collections: Browse for digital images of people and settings associated with the Colored Conventions in collections such as the New York Public Library's Africana & Black History and Digital Schomburg collections and the Prints & Photographs of the Library of Congress
- Websites: Read digitized pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907 (Library of Congress), the Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection (Cornell University) and other useful web resources
- Letters/Papers: Look for the letters and papers of well-known African Americans
- Census Records/History Databases: Find information about the Colored Conventions and their delegates by searching for census records and articles in biographical, history, and 19th-century journal and magazine databases
- Microform Collections: Examine historical documents on microfilm and fiche with equipment that allows users to view, print and scan images
- Omeka: Consult video tutorials for information on publishing biographies and adding images to coloredconventions.org and other Omeka sites
From Off Campus