Reference Works
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass by Call Number: Reference E185 .E545 2006UD Access Only
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: Reference E185 .E5453 2009UD Access Only
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas by Call Number: Reference E185 .E54 2006
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books.
Letters and Papers
Researchers often find important information in the letters and papers of abolitionists. Black Boston activist William Cooper Nell's papers are particularly helpful, as are the Black Abolitionist Papers and the Letters of William Lloyd Garrison.
- The Black Abolitionist Papers (5 vols.)Includes primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States (1830-1865). The UD Library also offers the online version.
- The Frederick Douglass Papers by John W. Blassingame (Editor)
- The Harriet Jacobs Family Papers (2 vols)by Jean Fagan Yellin, ed., 2008
- The Letters of William Lloyd Garrison (6 vols.)by Walter M. Merrill, ed., 1971-1981
- The Life and Writings of Frederick Douglass (5 vols.)by Philip S. Foner, ed., 1950-1975
- Selected Letters of Lucretia Mottby Beverly Wilson Palmer, ed., 2002
- William Cooper Nell: Nineteenth-Century African American Abolitionist, Historian, Integrationist; Selected Writings 1832-1874by Constance Porter Uzelac & Dorothy Porter Wesley, eds., 2002
Other Publications of Interest
- Freedom's lawmakers : a directory of Black officeholders during Reconstructionby Eric Foner, 1996 (rev. ed.)
- Men of mark; eminent, progressive, and rising.by William Simmons, 1970 (orig. pub. c1887)
African American Women
Black Women in America (3 vols.) by Publication Date: 2005
- Black women in nineteenth-century American life : their words, their thoughts, their feelingsby Bert James Loewenberg & Ruth Bogin, eds., 1976
- Noted Negro women, their triumphs and activitiesby Monroe A. Majors, 1971
- We Are Your Sisters: Black Women in the Nineteenth Centuryby Dorothy Sterling, 1984
- The Work of the Afro-American Womanby Mrs. N. F. Mossell, 1988 (orig. pub. 1894)
Geographic Places
The African-American History of Nashville, Tennessee, 1780-1930 by Publication Date: 1999
Black Gotham : a family history of African Americans in nineteenth-century New York City by Publication Date: 2011
Blacks in Gold Rush California by Publication Date: 1977The Negro Trail Blazers of California by
Publication Date: 1919
