Guides to African American Newspapers
The African American Newspaper: Voice of Freedom by Call Number: PN4882.5 .W37 2006
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography by Call Number: Reference PN4882.5 .A37x 1998
More Historical Newspapers
- Google News Archive: SearchThe collection contains 60 million scanned pages, covering 250 years. Google shut down the project in 2011, but the scanned pages are still available. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee.
- Historical Newspapers OnlineLinks to historical U.S. newspapers that are available online at no cost.
Full-Text Historical Newspapers
- History Commons This link opens in a new windowConsists of various components, among them African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, which includes: the Christian Recorder, Colored American, Frederick Douglass' Paper, Douglass' Monthly, Freedom's Journal, National Era and North Star. Also search William Lloyd Garrison's Liberator and the Childs' National Anti-Slavery Standard. Use the "Browse the Archives" link to view available issues by title.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis collection features U.S. publications that shaped the nation, including Frederick Douglass's North Star and Frederick Douglass' Paper plus William Lloyd Garrison's Liberator.
- Chronicling America This link opens in a new windowTo identify African American titles, select the "All Digitized Newspapers" tab and choose "African American" under Ethnicity.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowThis collection of African American newspapers features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn important collection of cover-to-cover reproductions of historic newspapers. Includes abolitionist papers such as the National Era and Liberator. 1690s-1922.
- Weekly Anglo-African | Center for Research LibrariesDigitized issues. (July 1859-July 1860)
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionThere is some overlap with Chronicling America (above). Dates range from 1846 through 2012.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionsThe works collected here include digital facsimiles of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (New York Times) This link opens in a new windowCoverage begins with 1851.
- Virginia Chronicle | University of VirginiaIncludes the Richmond Planet (1889-1922) and other African American newspapers.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowWithin Ancestry is a collection of newspapers entitled "U.S., African American Newspapers, 1829-1947." To search this collection only: log in to Ancestry, select ALL DATABASES, use the filters to limit to NEWSPAPERS, then select the "U.S., African American Newspapers."
- Black Abolitionist PapersBlack Abolitionist Papers includes primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States (1830-1865). The sources include articles from newspapers such as The Elevator.
- Weekly Anglo-African | Clotel (UVA)Click VIEW EBOOK in DELCAT Discovery. Click ENTER CLOTEL, choose SCHOLARLY APPARATUS in the top tool box, and then select THE WEEKLY ANGLO-AFRICAN. (coverage Dec. 15, 1860-March 16, 1861)
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) CatalogThe CRL offers selected digitized issues of historical newspapers such as the Weekly Anglo-African. As a member of CRL, UD Library may borrow items (e.g., Christian Recorder microfilm reels) through interlibrary loan as well.
Other Publications of Interest
- The Anglo-African MagazinePrint issues from vol. 1 (1859), located in Morris Library.
- National Anti-Slavery Standard
- Digital coverage,1840~1870
- Print, 1840-1870, in the Library Annex
- Print from 1848, 1851-1856, 1858, and 1860 in Special Collections
- "Will not these days be by thy poets sung": Poems of the Anglo-African and National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1863–1864Click poem titles to view scanned pages of selected issues.
- Black Abolitionist Archive (University of Detroit Mercy)A collection of speeches and editorials written by antebellum blacks from 1820s to the Civil War.
Newspapers on Microfilm
Microforms are photographic reproductions of printed materials in reduced size. In order to be read, they must be enlarged by a machine. Microform equipment includes digital microform scanners, reader/printers, and some manual fiche and film readers.
The UD Library has the microfilm set Negro Newspapers on Microfilm. The set includes African American titles in the American Antiquarian Society, filmed by Library of Congress (roughly 1883 to 1931, with a few dating back to 1865 and up to 1946). Approximately 100 titles. Most are small runs; several titles may appear on one roll.
Sample titles include:
Frederick Douglass' Paper (Microfilm no. 2210, reel 11/title 9)
Weekly Anglo-African (Microfilm no. 2210, reel 5/title 3 (coverage 1859-1860); Microfilm no. 2258 (coverage 1861-1862)