Evidence-Based Nursing
The evidence based nursing (EBN) serves to help professionals make informed decisions by learning from what others in the field are learning and researching.
Steps in Evidence Based Nursing
Using these steps makes it easier to apply current quality evidence from research in clinical and healthcare decisions.
- Formulate answerable clinical questions
- Search for the best evidence
- Critically appraise the evidence
- Integrate evidence into practice
- Evaluate the results
- Disseminate the evidence
A commonly used format for creating a clinical question is known as PICO(T) which refers to:
P =Patient population of interest
I =Intervention/issue of interest
C =Comparison of interest
O =Outcome of interest
(T =Time)
Example: Among the elderly, can yoga help reduce accidental falls?
P = Elderly
I = Yoga
C = Patients not doing yoga
O = Reducing accidental falls
Evidence Based Practice Databases
A list of databases that allow you to limit your searches and locate Evidence Based Practice Resources.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing & allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, & a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --) - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical & life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations & abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central.
- Trip Database"Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care."
- National Guideline Clearinghouse"NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines."
