Research Guides: Nursing: Databases/Articles

Nursing/Medical/Clinical Databases

The following library databases will help you locate articles and research materials. While some databases do provide full text access, others only contain abstracts (article overviews). To access additional full text available through other library resources, look for the icon.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing and allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Databases:

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text literature for sports and sports medicine. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, physical therapy, exercise science and other sport studies. (Coverage: 1930 --)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
Learn more about using Scopus at Elsevier's Scopus LibGuide..
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated collection of evidence-based entries and patient handouts that support nurses at the point-of-care. Users must self-enroll to obtain mobile app access to Lippincott Advisor. Self-enrollment instructions are available.
Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based procedures and skills guidance for a wide variety of nursing specialties. Can be used via the Web, but most users will want to access it via a mobile app. Self-enrollment instructions are available.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
3D model of human anatomy
Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive Anatomy and Physiology Database -- App Based
App access and activation information for students:
Available for iPad, Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android, and Chromebooks. Check the compatibility of your device here. Note: Initially the app may start as a trial. Once you have signed up with your udel.edu email address and entered a redemption code you will have full access.

For Faculty:
Complete Anatomy comes with a library of pre-composed Screens, Quizzes and Lectures, allowing Educators to quickly and efficiently build curricula. Additionally, students may access the library independently.

Curriculum Manager is a tool for creating course content. It allows you to monitor student progress and more. Learn more about Curriculum Manager here.

Faculty members – contact Sarah Katz, Health Science Librarian, to request access to Complete Anatomy.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection is designed for educators and students to teach and learn key concepts and fundamental scientific techniques through video demonstrations. Subject-based collections cover a wide range of STEM subjects.
JoVE Video Journal is a companion to JoVE Science Education. It is a video methods journal consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of more than 50,000 videos spanning numerous subject areas including health sciences, counseling, and therapy
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window