This is the "Home" page of the "Dissertations and Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dissertations and Theses   Tags: dissertation, thesis  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/dissertations Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

Online Resources

Tip:

If you know the exact title of the thesis, put quotes around the title.

  • Google Scholar
  • Google
  • OpenThesis
    Upload and search theses and dissertations.
  • Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Dissertation Collection
    CRL holds more than 800,000 doctoral dissertations from almost 100 universities outside of the U.S. and Canada. The bulk of the collection are dissertations written in the late 19th century and the early 20th century, but dates range from 1800 to the present. The University of Delaware Library is a member of CRL and can borrow dissertations requested by UD faculty, students, and staff.

Searching Tips

Thesis authors can choose to not have their work included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. In some cases, the only way to obtain the thesis is to contact the author.

In searching for UD theses by department:

  • Do not use the word "department"
  • Put quotes around keywords from department name if the words are adjacent
  • Still no luck? University departments and programs have changed through the years. Ask at the Reference Desk for ideas

If you know the exact title put quotes around it.

 

Senior Theses

Senior theses (Undergraduate Research Program)

Beginning May 2009, senior theses are submitted digitally.

University of Delaware Institutional Repository

Online access to fulltext Senior theses 2009 to present.

University Archives and Records Management (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)

Print copies of Senior theses up to 2009.

Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval.

Dissertations and Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

  • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) / Dissertation Abstracts  Icon
    Citations and abstracts for international doctoral dissertations and masters theses. The database is strongest in theses from the United States and Canada. Coverage is 1861 to present. The database is also called Dissertation Abstracts.

    Always check the Library catalog to see if the Library has the thesis.

    Full text of non-UD theses may be purchased from ProQuest. Some theses are available for loan through the Interlibrary Loan service.

    See the next box for information specific to the University of Delaware.

University of Delaware Dissertations

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

The University of Delaware began granting doctoral degrees in 1948. The Library has copies of or online access to all dissertations.

Online:

1948-present

Print and/or microfiche:

1948-July 2005

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

  • Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware  Icon
    This database is a subset of Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database and has UD dissertations only. Full text of all University of Delaware dissertations is available free to University of Delaware faculty, students, and staff.

    1948 to present.
  • DELCAT (UD Library catalog) University of Delaware Theses
    Special "Search by collection" access to records for paper and microfiche copies to UD dissertations, 1948 to present.

    Contains links to online dissertations in the Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database, from 2005 to present.

    To search by department, enter keywords from the department name in the keyword search field. If the words are adjacent in the department name, select the Yes option for words together.
  • WorldCat (Local) (UD Library catalog)
    Contains links to online dissertations in the Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database, from 2005 to present. Contains records for paper and microfiche copies of dissertations, 1948- July 2009. Use the top search box on Library home page. Enter search word or words. In the results list, select the option Thesis/dissertation from the left menu.

    To search by department, enter keywords from the department. If the words are adjacent in the department name, enclose the words in quotes.
  • University Archives and Records Management
    The University Archives Thesis Collection contains print copies of UD graduate theses from the early 20th century to mid-2005. Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally and University Archives does not have copies.

    Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval. (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)

University of Delaware Master's Theses

In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.

  • University of Delaware Institutional Repository
    In the Office of Graduate and Professional Education "community." Online access to full text:

    Master's Theses, Fall 2009 to present.

    Longwood Graduate Program in Public Horticulture Master's theses, 1970 to present.
  • WorldCat (Local) (UD Library catalog)
    Contains records for paper and microfiche copies of theses and has online access to most theses from 2005 to present. Use the top search box on Library home page. Enter search word or words. In the results list, select the option Thesis/dissertation from the left menu.

    The online theses may be available in the Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database or may be in the University of Delaware Institutional Repository.

    To search by department, enter keywords from the department. If the words are adjacent in the department name, enclose the words in quotes.
  • DELCAT (UD Library catalog) University of Delaware Theses
    Special "Search by collection" access to records for paper and microfiche copies of most master's theses up to 2009.

    To search by department, enter keywords from the department name in the keyword search field. If the words are adjacent in the department name, select the Yes option for words together.
  • Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware  Icon
    This database is a subset of Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) database and has UD dissertations and master's theses only. Full text of all University of Delaware dissertations and master's theses is available free to University of Delaware faculty, students, and staff.

    Most UD master's theses are not available in this database. Fewer than 1,000 are available plus more than 200 from the Winterthur Program.

    The Winterthur Program in Early American Culture theses cover the 1970s to fall 2009.
  • University Archives and Records Management
    The University Archives Thesis Collection contains print copies of UD graduate theses from the early 20th century to mid-2005. Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally and University Archives does not have copies.

    Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval. (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Rebecca C. Knight
Contact Info
Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
(302) 831-1730
Send Email
Address:
Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H
University of Delaware Library
181 S. College Ave.
Newark, DE 19717-5267
 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip