Quick Guide to Options for Obtaining UD Theses
In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Online
Search UDSpace for full-text UD dissertations and theses.
At the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library)
If you live nearby, you are welcome to come to the library and read or check out the print copy, or read the microform copy. For theses in the Library Annex, submit a request form to have the item delivered to the Help Center.
The library is open to the public.
Interlibrary Loan Service
Use the Interlibrary Loan service. Note: no theses available for loan after July 2005.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a library to library resource sharing network. Libraries borrow and lend materials for their library users.
Because this is a library to library service, you should start with your library, which for many people is their public library. Fill out a request form, giving all the information you know. Search DELCAT, the library catalog. Your library will contact the UD Library to borrow the hard copy (or the microfilm copy), if available.
Purchase
You can buy theses from the ProQuest company:
- Use the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database if your library has access to it.
- Or use Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest. Dissertation Express can be searched by author, title, and keyword.
University of Delaware Dissertations: Details of Availability
In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
The University of Delaware began granting doctoral degrees in 1948. The Library has copies of or online access to all dissertations.
Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new windowThis database is a subset of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. It contains only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. Detailed information about availability and dates of coverage is available.
- UDSpace (Institutional Repository)Available online, freely accessible, winter 2014 to present. Partial holdings, prior to winter 2014. The majority of the dissertations are located in the Office of Graduate and Professional Education "community."
- DELCAT Discovery This link opens in a new windowOnline catalog of the University of Delaware Library
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations & theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- Dissertation ExpressPurchase from the ProQuest company using Dissertation Express, the free order interface.
- PQDT OpenAvailable online, freely accessible. Theses are included in this database by choice of the author.
Undergraduate Senior Theses
The UD Library does not collect undergraduate theses and they are not listed in DELCAT Discovery.
- University Archives and Records ManagementContact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval.
- Undergraduate Senior Theses (2009-present) (UDSpace)Available in the Office of Undergraduate Research and Experiential Learning: Undergraduate Research Program community in UDSpace. UDSpace is the University of Delaware Institutional Repository; materials are freely available.
University of Delaware Master's Theses
In Library resources, the words "theses" or "thesis" used alone includes both doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally. Neither the Library nor the University Archives have print or microfilm copies. Copies are not available for loan.
- UDSpaceOnline access to full text, Fall 2009 to present. The majority of theses are available in the Office of Graduate & Professional Education community in UDSpace. Includes Longwood Graduate Program theses, 2009 to present. Longwood Graduate Program theses, 1970s to 2005, are available in the Longwood Graduate Program community. Note: coverage of master's theses is incomplete. UDSpace is the University of Delaware Institutional Repository.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new windowThis database is a subset of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global database. It contains only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. Detailed information about availability and dates of coverage is available.
- DELCAT DiscoveryContains records for paper and microfiche of Master's theses, 1954 – July 2005 (hardbound or microfilm). Available for loan. Also contains records for July 2005 to present (not available for loan). Note: DELCAT Discovery does not have links to all online theses. Also check UDSpace and Dissertations & Theses @ UD. Important: Master's theses collection is not complete.
- University Archives and Records ManagementThe University Archives Thesis Collection contains print copies of UD graduate theses from the early 20th century to mid-2005. Beginning July 2005, all University of Delaware theses are submitted digitally and University Archives does not have copies.
Contact University Archives to request a thesis. The Thesis Collection is stored off-site; allow at least one working day for retrieval. (002 Pearson Hall; 831-2750)
Borrowing / Purchasing University of Delaware Theses
Dissertations
- Available for loan, 1948 – July 2005 (hardbound or microfilm)
- Not available for loan, July 2005 – present (no hardbound or microfilm)
- Available online, freely accessible winter 2014 – present (UDSpace)
- Purchase from the ProQuest company using the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
- Purchase from the ProQuest company using Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest
- Available online, freely accessible, in database by choice of the author. Use PQDT Open
Master’s Theses
- Available for loan 1954 – July 2005 (hardbound or microfilm)
- Not available for loan July 2005 – present (no hardbound or microfilm)
- Available online, freely accessible, Fall 2009 to present (UDSpace)
- Purchase from the ProQuest company using the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database
- Purchase from the ProQuest company using Dissertation Express, the free order interface from ProQuest
- Available online, freely accessible, in database by choice of the author. Use PQDT Open
Searching Tips
Thesis authors can choose to not have their work included in the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. In some cases, the only way to obtain the thesis is to contact the author.
Searching tips for DELCAT Discovery: searching for UD theses by department:
- Do not use the word "department"
- Put quotes around keywords from department name if the words are adjacent
- Still no luck? University departments and programs have changed through the years. Ask at the Reference Desk for ideas
If you know the exact title put quotes around it.
Finding Theses by Source
- Master's Theses, Fall 2009 to present (UDSpace)Full text, available online, freely accessible in UDSpace. Available in the Office of Graduate and Professional Education community. Includes Winterthur Program in American Culture theses, 1970s to fall 2009. UDSpace is the University of Delaware Institutional Repository.