This is the "Home" page of the "Fashion and Apparel Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fashion and Apparel Studies   Tags: clothing, design, designers, green, merchandising, social responsibility  

Last Updated: Apr 26, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/fashion Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

 

New E-Journal! The Vogue Archive

The new Vogue Archive offers issues from 1892 to present. (Some may be unavailable at this time.)

Click here to view the CBS video Vogue Puts Its 120-Year History Online. The show aired on December 11, 2011.

 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

 

QR Code for Smart Phones

Do you have a bar code reader on your smart phone? Scan or snap a photo of this guide's QR code to save a copy of the URL.

 

Fashion and Apparel Studies Subject Guide

  Welcome to the Fashion and Apparel Studies Subject Guide. 

Use this guide to access UD Library resources related to fashion and apparel studies.

     

    Visit the UD Library Special Collections

    Yves Saint-Laurent, l’Œuvre Intégral, 1962-2002

    "This unique ensemble presents forty years of Saint Laurent’s design: all 81 couture collections presented in 1,283 production drawings. From the Mondrian dress of 1965 to the “Forties” collections that caused a scandal in 1971, from the 1976 'Russian' collection to the homage to Vincent van Gogh in 1988, each design is presented on large format loose sheets, housed in four brown linen clamshell cases, documenting the sketches and fabric samples. Each production drawing includes the name of the couture atelier that produced the piece, the name of the model who wore it, and the garment’s runway order.

    The entire wardrobe is arranged from day wear to evening wear, including the pea jacket, the safari jacket, the tuxedo and the wedding dress. The production drawings are accompanied by a slipcased 96-page bilingual volume with the viewing guide, the show programs, a preface by Pierre Berge and photographs of Yves Saint Laurent in his studio."

    Special Collections, Second Floor, Morris Library (SPEC GEN FOLIO+ TT502 .S24x 2010)

     

    Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

    Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
    This is an award-winning online encyclopedia with color images and descriptions of world dress and fashion.

    Oxford Art Online
    Oxford Art Online is a gateway into art research. It includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

    The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
    A source of online information on the life and work of important designers from 1840 to the present.

     

    Recommendation for Purchase

    The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other materials for the fashion and apparel studies collection. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Linda L. Stein
    Contact Info
    Librarian
    Phone: (302) 831-6159
    Fax: (302) 831-1631
    Send Email
     

    Ask a Librarian

    • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
      Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2011

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip