This is the "Home" page of the "Citation Management Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation Management Tools   Tags: endnote, mendeley, refworks, zotero  

Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/citationtools Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Information

Need help with a specific citation manager? Contact one of the people below for more information.

RefWorks
Dianna McKellar
302-831-0790

EndNote Web & EndNote
Cathy Wojewodzki
302-831-8085

Zotero
Fritz Getze
302-831-8873

Mendeley
Erin Daix
302-831-6943

 

Workshops

The University of Delaware Library offers RefWorks workshops throughout the year. Consult the workshop calendar to see when the next classes will be offered. 

Related Guides

APA Citation Style
by Rebecca Knight - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
0 views this year
MLA Citation Style
by Erin Daix - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
0 views this year
RefWorks @ the University of Delaware
by Dianna McKellar - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
268 views this year
Turabian & Chicago Citation Style
by Rebecca Knight - Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
0 views this year
Citing Your Sources
by Rebecca Knight - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
1,089 views this year
 

Citation Management Tools

A citation is a way of giving credit to an author, artist, or other creator of intellectual work.  A citation

  • gives credit to the author or originator of an idea
  • provides the information necessary for the reader to retrieve the item; usually author, title, source, and date

A citation manager stores, organizes, and formats citations for your papers and bibliographies. Authors and students use them to manage their references, format their citations, and, especially, save time. The four most commonly used citation managers programs at the University of Delaware are RefWorksEndNote and EndNote WebZotero, and Mendeley.

The University of Delaware Library has a subscription to RefWorks. Workshops offered by the librarians help users get started and learn more advanced features.  Users can create multiple accounts, which are easy to share among research groups and with class project teammates.  Undergraduates will find this tool generally easy to use. A strong Write-N-Cite component is available for use when writing a paper.  Graduate students will find the organizational options in RefWorks an aid in the research and writing process.  Faculty may find the ease of sharing bibliographies with students an advantage of RefWorks.


EndNote Web
is built into Web of Science and is especially easy to use with this database and the Cambridge databases.  EndNote is a rather sophisticated citation manager and offers a large number of citation formats and options.  The capabilities of the purchased EndNote software that is loaded on one's computer differ from those of the web product provided by the library.

Zotero is a free, easy to use, open source citation manager available on the web.  Many users like Zotero because of its simple integration into the browser and its ability to add PDFs, images, audio and video files, and snapshops of web page with a single click.

Mendeley is also free on the web.  The social networking capabilities are a major attraction of this citation management software.

The following chart compares these citation managers, their capabilities, and their requirements.

 

Comparison of Citation Management Software

RefWorksEndNote WebZoteroMendeley
Cost No cost for UD students, faculty, and staff.  The University of Delaware Library subscribes to RefWorks of all UD affiliates. No cost for UD students, faculty, and staff.  EndNote Web is part of the Web of Knowledge subscription.  Also, free account with EndNote purchase. Free for basic account, some cost for storage space beyond 100 mb. Free for basic account, some cost for more storage space
Web/OS Web-based via Firefox, Internte Explorer, Safari and Chrome/Windos, Mac not Linux Web-based/Windows, Mac, Linux Web-based, via Firefox; avail for Chrome, Safari in stand-alone version, using plugins Web site, but full functionality from Mendeley desktop installed on computer
Mac/Win Both Both Both Both
Word Processor Compatibility

Refworks: All word processors that allow files to be saved as RTF.

Write-N-Cite: Word Only

Word Word, Open Office, LaTex Word, Open Office, LaTex
Import methods/records from Diret import from most databases and library catalogs.  Other databases require creating and importing a text file.  Direct import from some databases.  Other databases will require separate download and import steps.  Will import citation information from web pages. Direct import from Web, catalogs, Amazon records, some databases. Other databases require individual record import. Use "Import to Mendeley" browser plug-in (works for many major vendors, but not all)
Includes full text Link to full text provided when available No Full text included in record No
Links to .pdf PDFs can be attached Yes Metadata includes pdf link

Yes

Notes Notes can be added to citations Notes cann be added to citations Allows for notes in record and on pdfs Allows for notes and annotations in record and on pdfs
Where is my database stored? All citations are stored on RefWorks servers. In your Endnote Web account on the web. Local computer but can synch/backup to Cloud In the UK. If you do not sync to Mendeley web, data will be stored on local computer only.
Export format

Bibliographic Software (ex. EndNote & ProCite), Bib TeX, Citations List, RefWorks tagged format, RefWorks XML format, Tab delimited

EndNote, RefMan, Refer, RefWorks, RIS, Tabdemimited, Bib TeX RIS files, BibTeX, Refer/BiblX RIS files, BibTeX, EndNote XML
Sharing Yes all folders or selected folders can be shared.  Also, shared accounts may be created. Yes.  You can also share with EndNote Web users at any institution Yes public and private Yes. Can create private and public groups to share refs, files, annotations, notes
Imports RSS feeds Yes       No Yes No
Attachments file size limits 20 megabytes per attachment
Only when used with EndNote X5 Limited by local device (desktop/laptop) capacity No limit for local computer storage. 50MB on file synced file attachments
Database storage size 1 gigabyte for all citations and attachments Limited to 10,000 citations. Desktop storage limited by local device; 100MB backup in Cloud Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 500MB personal and 500MB group free Mendeley file syncing (larger plans available for purchase)
Backup Yes it is possible to backup citations Yes. Back up your files by exporting citations to your hard drive Available if chosen via sync to Zotero Library 100 MB max Yes. Create manual backup from Mendeley desktop by clicking on Help. 
Browser compatibility Firefox, Internte Explorer, Safari and Chrome Toolbar shortcuts available for Internet Explorer and Firefox.  Mozillla; others using standalone version with add-ons All major browsers
Deduping Yes, exact duplicates and close duplicate can be identified and removed. Identifies exact duplicates for removal. Yes, but in version 3 only No
Global editing? Yes No No No
Searchable Yes, your citations and many attachments can be searched. Yes Yes, including pdfs and other indexed files Yes, including pfds
Edit output styles Yes Not available Not available Not available
Mobile devices No mobile app, but there is a mobile ready interface. No app; only via browser. Only via using browser to access Zotero server App for Apple and Android devices
Library support Library Workshops, individual consultations and an online tutorial are available

Librarians can offer limited support.

EndNote Web documentation

Zotero documentation Mendeley documentation
What happens when I leave UD? Access to accounts can be retained though the RefWorks Alumni Program. You can export the records to another program. Fully portable at no cost Fully portable at no cost
  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip