Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
What do you do when you find out about a book or article and it is not available at your library?
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan is a resource sharing system. Books or other materials may be borrowed. Articles from magazines or journals may be sent electronically
ILL is a cooperative service and operates from library to library. Individuals need to contact their local library to use the service.
People affiliated with the University of Delaware can use Interlibrary Loan through the UD Library.
Instructions are available on the Interlibrary Loan webpage. You will need to create your own account to use the service.
Books and microfilm are sent through the mail or by courier. Remember to allow time for this.
The libraries that own the items decide if the item is too rare, valuable, or fragile to loan or to photocopy.
DELCAT Discovery searches the UD Library collection and collections of libraries around the world.
People not affiliated with UD can use the service at a public library.
Note: having a UD library borrowing card is not the same as being affiliated with UD.
The collections of the University of Delaware Library (Morris Library) include materials useful to genealogical and historical researchers.
Formats may be online, print, microform, manuscript, or other. Material types include family genealogies, local histories, vital statistics, wills or deeds, military records, census information, and publications of genealogical societies and state historical societies. Library collections are particularly strong for Delaware and surrounding areas.
Guides to genealogical research.
Most genealogical materials are located in the following areas:
Arranged by Library of Congress call numbers.
Most of the titles have call numbers shelved on the Third Floor in these call number areas:
Reference Collection (First Floor)
Contains indexes, guides, historical atlases, and directories. Publications of interest include Union List of Newspapers in Delaware (Reference desk Z6952 .D3 U54 1990), Directory of Historical Organizations in the United States and Canada (Ref E172 .A538), and The Value of a Dollar... (Ref HB235.U6 V35). Materials in the Reference Collection cannot be checked out.
Special Collections (Second Floor)
Contains rare books, manuscripts, maps, and local history materials. Special Collections includes the Delaware Collection which has materials relating to the history, culture, business, and social aspects of Delaware. Books and other published materials are listed in DELCAT Discovery.
Manuscripts, letters, etc., are listed in the Special Collections online finding aids. Due to the rare nature of the materials, researchers must register and follow the departmental policies and procedures. Special Collections is not open on weekends or on most evenings. Materials must be used in the Special Collections Department.
The Microforms Collection (Lower Level, part of the Student Multimedia Design Center)
Contains most of the Library materials in special formats, including microfilm, microfiche, and CD-ROM. DELCAT Discovery lists most of the microform materials.
U.S. Documents Collection (Lower Level and Library Annex)
Has publications received from the federal government. The library has print copies of "Serial Set" on the Lower Level and has the Serial Set as an online full text database. The Serial Set contains Congressional reports and documents, such as "petitions for relief" of veterans and their families. The collection also contains military histories, including The War of the Rebellion: Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies (Library Annex U.S. Doc W 45.5:). Most of these materials are located in the Library Annex. Note: many publications in the U.S. Documents collection are not listed in DELCAT Discovery. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
Map Collection (Lower Level)
Has a large number of maps published by various agencies and publishers. Ask at the Student Multimedia Design Center Desk for assistance.
Is a storage area located on another part of campus. Annex materials may be retrieved and brought to the Morris Library. See the Library Annex Request Form for details.
B.A., History. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1973.
M.S., Library Science. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. 1981.