Genealogy

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. This project is sponsored through the Library of Congress and the NEH.

One of the best websites for locating genealogical information on the Web. Includes sections: Cemeteries & Funeral Homes and Religion & Churches.

The DPLA portal searches collections held by US archives, libraries and museums.

Provides a list of terms common in genealogy research for beginners.

Created by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. In order to access the records, you must create a free account.

UK-based online genealogy service. Subscription includes PERSI (Periodical Source Index) an invaluable index to records from over 8,000 genealogy and history societies from all over the world.
Offers Free Records, including all U.S. Census records (easier interface than Ancestry).

Fold3 specializes in digitized primary source materials covering historical military records. Some documents are available for free and others are available only to paid subscribers. Site also provides capabilities for members to highlight documents and post comments. Not available at the UD Library.
Fold3 has content partners including Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) and the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). National Archive collections include Revolutionary War Service Records (M881), Revolutionary War Rolls (M246), Civil War Pensions Index (T289), War of 1812 Pension Applications (M313) (still in progress).