Delaware Genealogy Resources
Many of our records related to Delaware are housed in the Special Collections Department, located on the second floor of the library. Appointments are needed to view material. Contact AskSpec via this form to talk to an archivist. To discuss the extent and breadth of our collection, it's recommended that you talk with an archivist before your visit.
Morris Library also has collections on DE land deeds, city information, and other DE information on microfilm that might be useful to genealogist. Most of the records that we have on microfilm are copies of records from the Delaware Public Archives. Our Microforms Room is located on the lower level. If you need assistance, someone from the Student Multimedia Design Center can help you.
Delaware Genealogical Research Guide by Call Number: F163 .D349 2020ISBN: 9780578584263Publication Date: 2020-01-09The Delaware Genealogical Research Guide contains detailed descriptions of how and where to find information about Delaware ancestors. Well organized and easy to use, the guide covers more than 20 types of records; offers suggestions for further research; and features a comprehensive compendium of more than 100 local, regional, and national record repositories and resources. In addition, discussions of Delaware's history and geography add important context and explain how competing claims to the land and protracted boundary disputes affect where records might be located. Meticulously compiled and fact-checked by members of the Delaware Genealogical Society, this guide is a valuable asset for experienced as well as novice researchers.
History of Delaware by Call Number: SPEC F164 .M83 2006ISBN: 9780874139471Publication Date: 2006-04-01Originally undertaken by the author as a Bicentennial project in 1975, this book has now become the standard history of the state ofDelaware. This 5th edition is updated through the end of 2005
- Delaware HistoryCreated by the Delaware Historical Society
Where can I find Delaware historical collections?
- Delaware Public ArchivesMost Delaware historical collections related to government information or state records will reside here.
- Delaware Historical SocietyA rich collection related to Delaware and Wilmington History.
- Wilmington Public LibraryHas a large collection of Delaware historical sources, newspapers, photographs, and more.
- UD Special CollectionsUD has an extensive Delawareana collection. This link will lead you to the general website, but you can find more information on the extent of the collection by clicking on the research guide under the "Related Guides" box to the left on this page.
The institutions that are listed below are not located in Delaware, but could have Delaware historical collections.
Pennsylvania:
- Pennsylvania State Archives
- The National Archives at Philadelphia - This institution would have federal documents related to the regional area
- The Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Maryland: