This is the "Home" page of the "Newspapers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers   Tags: adobe reader  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.

 

Saving and Printing Newspaper Articles

Digitized Newspapers (Free)

  • Early State Records, Newspapers (Maryland Early State Records Online)
    Digitized images of issues of newspapers including American and Commercial Daily Advertiser, Baltimore Whig, Cambridge Chronicle, Cecil Whig, Centreville Observer, Ellicott City Times, Kent County News, Maryland Gazette, Maryland Journal, and Maryland Republican.
  • Google News Archive Search
    Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Digital newspaper collection covering 1836-1922. Newspapers from California, the District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia are available. More newspapers are being added. Also has a directory of American newspapers published between 1690-present. From the Library of Congress.
  • Historical Jewish Press
    Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Includes Ha-Zman, Noar, Davar, Ha-Zvi, Ha-Magid, Ha-Levanon, Israël, Bulletin de l’Alliance, and Palestine Post.

More Digitized Newspapers

Pictures from Associated Press

Related Research Guide

There are better sources than wikipedia and Google searching to find background information and overviews of a person, and event, or a time period.

Advertisements

Daily News, 1947. Ad*Access

  • Ad*Access
    The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment “Library 2000” Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.

Newspapers

Newspapers are rich resources. They provide a glimpse of a community, cover major and minor events, provide information on people, contain listings of births, deaths, land transfers, and more.

Many newspapers are available on the Internet. Some are individual papers and some are in collections. Full text does not mean the actual articles as they were published. Many electronically available newspapers are text only, no pictures, no ads, etc. Others are digital page images.

U.S. Newspapers | International Newspapers | Historical Newspapers

      

    U.S. Newspapers Available Electronically

    U.S. Newspapers Within Databases

    • ProQuest Newspapers  
        
        Icon
      Provides full text (text only) of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from the United States and from international news sources. Major papers include New York Times (Jun 1, 1980- ), Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Times (London), and Philadelphia Inquirer (1983- ). Coverage also includes U.S. local and regional news. Years of coverage vary by newspaper.
    • LexisNexis Academic  
        
        Icon
      Full text information focusing on news, business, and legal literature. The “News” section provides full-text articles (text only) from hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers.
    • Ethnic NewsWatch  Icon  Icon
      Includes full-text newspapers from the ethnic, minority, and native press. Coverage is 1959- .
    • Gannett Newsstand  
        
        Icon
      Access to 87 local and regional U.S. newspapers published by the Gannett Company, a leading news publisher. The newspapers are available in full text (text only) and include all articles of substance written by staff writers, death notices, birth notices, editorials, reviews, letters to the editor, and selected online content.

      Includes the News Journal (Wilmington) from 1999 to the present.
    • Gannett Military Newsstand  
        
        Icon
      Access to 9 military newspapers and trade journals published by the Gannett Company, a leading news publisher. The newspapers are available in full text (text only).

    International Newspapers Within Databases

    Historical Newspapers Available Electronically

    Historical Newspapers Within Databases

    • America’s Historical Newspapers  Icon
    • Accessible Archives  Icon
    • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998  Icon
      This collection of African American newspapers features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
    • African American Newspapers: The 19th Century  Icon
    • Gale NewsVault  Icon
      Access to digital images of historical newspaper and periodical articles. The collections cover 17th, 18th and 19th centuries.

      17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
      19th Century British Library Newspapers
      19th Century U.S. Newspapers
      19th Century U.K. Periodicals
      Economist Historical Archive
      Illustrated London News Historical Archive
      Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
      Times Literary Supplement Archive
    • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
      Includes Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
      Access through the New York Times database. On top left of page, the phrase section "Searching: 1 database" appears. Click the arrow next to that and select from the list:
      ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
    • South Asian Newspapers  Icon
      Digital images of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922.
      Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.
    • African Newspapers  Icon
      Digital images of more than 30 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century African newspapers. Titles are from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, and elsewhere.
      Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.
    • Latin American Newspapers  Icon
      Digital images of more than 35 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century Latin American newspapers. Titles are from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
      Part of the World Newspaper Archive collection.

    Directories

    Subject Librarian

    Profile Image
    Rebecca C. Knight
    Contact Info
    Associate Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department,
    (302) 831-1730
    Send Email
    Address:
    Reference and Instructional Services Department, Room 117H
    University of Delaware Library
    181 S. College Ave.
    Newark, DE 19717-5267
     
    • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
      Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip