Research Guides: Newspapers: Current Newspapers

Large Newspaper Databases

Best Bets
Local

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Gale Primary Sources: Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital newspaper archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 20 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 17th - 21st centuries)
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazine on a wide range of topics. Also includes reference, newspaper, and audio content such as the full text of New York Times articles from 1995 to the present, and audio files and transcripts of National Public Radio (NPR) programs from 1990 to the present. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
World Newsreels Online This link opens in a new window

News Journal (Wilmington, DE) This link opens in a new window
- Read this FAQ that describes our access to the News Journal.
- Digitized textual content of the major daily newspaper for northern Delaware from 1999 to the present. No images.
- Microfilm (call number: Microfilm S7) is available from 1875 to the present.
- Previous titles include: Morning News, Wilmington Morning News, and Morning Herald (see News Journal Chronology).
- News Journal Index information
The Library holds the News Journal and its predecessor titles on microfilm. Consult A Chronology of the Wilmington News Journal.

Philadelphia Daily News
- Digital content from Global Newsstream, 1983 - present
- Older issues, 1985-1990, on microfilm S540
Philadelphia Inquirer (Philadelphia, PA)
- Digital content from various providers, 1934 to the present.
- Older issues dating back to 1940 are available on microfilm (call number: Microfilm S410).
- Previous title: Philadelphia Inquirer Public Ledger, 1934-1969.
Philadelphia Tribune (Philadelphia, PA)
Digital content, 1912-2001
The Review
- Current digital access.
- 1882 - present available in UDSpace.

Newspapers: Require Accounts

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Online includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition plus additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics and data. Crosswords not included. Content may also be accessed via the free New York Times app. Content not available via tablet. (Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present). IMPORTANT: Click on “more …” for Activation, Renewal, Tips and Troubleshooting information.
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
Registration Instructions
*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*
- Step 1: Click on this link: http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
- Step 2: Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
- Step 3: Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt.
- Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.
Washington Post Online This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Washington Post. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.
Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:
- 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
- 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Washington Post