American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
- ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
As the only accreditor of U.S. voluntary consensus standards bodies, ANSI facilitates the approval of American National Standards (ANS). It is the "sole U.S. representative and dues-paying member of the two major non-treaty international standards organizations, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and, via the U.S. National Committee (USNC), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)" (ANSI 2017). Through ANSI or the USNC, U.S. standards are often submitted to ISO and IEC to be used in whole or in part as international standards. ANSI offers institutional access to their approved standards, as well as U.S. and international standards from many other standards bodies, through the online platform ANSI Standards Connect ET. - ANSI-Accredited Standards DevelopersThe complete list of SDOs accredited by the American National Standards Institute.
- ANSI Directory of SDO (Standards Developing Organizations)A directory of Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs) that play a role in the U.S. system, including contact information, the scope of standards development work, and their international activities by geographic region. Information in this SDO Directory can be searched by SDO Name, ICS Code and Industry Sector.
- ANSI SDO DirectoryA graphical user interface of standards developers whose standards are available for sale or subscription purchase through ANSI. For additional information on the standards developer and to view their top selling standards, click on their acronym or the SDO icon.
Selected National Standards Organizations
This section includes a subject-specific select list of standard developing organizations (SDOs) related to engineering and technology. It contains a select list of professional societies that have multiple functions and develop standards as part of their organization's mission. The focus here is only on their standards work. Individual, full-text standards in print and/or digital formats are available for purchase from every standards body listed.
- Acoustical Society of America: ASA
The purpose of the Acoustical Society of America is to generate, disseminate, and promote the knowledge and practical applications of acoustics. Established in 1929, the present membership includes leaders in acoustics worldwide. Diverse fields of interest in acoustics include physics, engineering, architecture, noise, oceanography, biology, speech and hearing, psychology and music. - Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation: AAMI
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation is the primary source of consensus standards, both national and international, for the medical device industry, as well as practical information, support, and guidance for healthcare technology and sterilization professionals. - ASTM Compass
ASTM develops and publishes national and international standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM standards are used in a variety of industries, including aircraft, chemical, construction, consumer product, energy, highway, metals, testing solutions, automotive, health care services, technology, and textiles. ASTM Compass includes all ASTM standards, plus access to a selection of ISO and IEC standards. - IEEE Xplore
Millions of full-text documents in electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science from IEEE and its publishing partners. Includes access to IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, and standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences. All IEEE standards. Use the "Advanced Search" to limit to standards.
International Standards Organizations
- ISO standards
ISO is a developer and publisher of international standards, working with a network of national standards institutes from over a 150 countries.
The University of Delaware has a selective collection of ISO standards available through the ASTM Compass database, with some older editions in paper. - IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)
IEC's activities, collectively known as electrotechnology, cover all electrical, electronic and associated technologies in the areas of power generation, transmission and distribution, medical equipment, semiconductors, fiber optics, nanotechnology and renewable energies. - ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute)
ETSI develops European Standards to advance the construction of telecommunications, broadcasting and other electronic communications networks and services. ETSI is a key player on the international standards scene and publishes more than 2,500 standards every year.