African American History

Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Resources for researching the past, present, and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)

An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)

Citations to publications on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas

Biographical information on historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers from around the world and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Contains biographies, obituaries, and photographs. Many of the biographies are enhanced with full text, abstracts, and citations. Biographical subjects represent all fields and nationalities. (Coverage: antiquity --)

Fulltext collections of some of the most frequently used government information sources. Includes the final published versions of official Federal publications from all 3 branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. (Coverage: varies)