Research Guides: ANTH 204 Intro to Social Science Research Methods in Anthropology : Find Articles and Books

Find Sources

Select a relevant database related to your topic.

Perform a search using different combinations of keywords you identified when exploring your topic.
Note SUBJECT TERMS listed in articles of interest. Consider adding those into your search.
Use the CITE tool on the source page to save citations of sources you want to explore further.
Download the PDF of the articles you want to read.

Search in DELCAT for books and articles on your topic

Use the CITE button to save the citation for sources you want to explore further.
Use the PERMALINK button to save a link to the catalog record so you can get back to it quickly.

TIP: The easiest way to get back to articles you didn't download but have the citation for is to paste just the title into the DELCAT search box. You can then download the article or use the SHARE button to save a stable link to get back to it.

Subject & Multidisciplinary Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association, with links to backfile issues in JSTOR. (Coverage: varies by journal)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.

If researchers from many different fields may write about your topic, it's a good idea to search in a multidisciplinary database.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access and preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
Google Scholar is only one of many ways to identify and access scholarly publications. Consult the Databases page or the Electronic Journalspage for other possibilities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.

American West This link opens in a new window
Original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Allows scholars to explore the fact and fiction of westward expansion in America through tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes and outlaws. (Coverage: early 18th c. - mid-20th c.)
Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Explore the political, social and cultural history of Native peoples from the 16th - 20th centuries. Covers American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Sourced from American and Canadian institutions, newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, manuscripts, drawings and sketches, photographs, maps, periodicals, monographs and more. Includes indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. (Coverage: 1500-present)
A sampling of tribes and communities covered: Algonquin, Apache, Arapaho, Assinboine, Bannock, Blackfeet, Blood, Caddo, Chemawa, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Chickasaw, Chocktaw, Colville, Couer D’Alene, Cree, Creek, Crow, Gros Ventre, Havasupai, Hoopa Valley, Hopi, Ingalik, Inuit, Iowa, Iroquois, Kalispel, Kansa, Kickapoo, Kootenai, Koyukon, Lemhi, Métis, and more.

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Mass Observation was founded in 1937 as a social research organization. The founders' aim was to create "an anthropology of ourselves" by studying the everday lives of ordinary people in Britain. Features Handwritten Text Recognition (HTR) for full-text searching. (Coverage: 1937-1967)
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
Five major letter collections exist from 15th c. England and they are all available in this resource: (Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stoner, and Amburgh). Contains full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from the printed editions. (Coverage: 1400-1490)
The Paston letters: Largest and best known collection of the 5 families. Their letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses.

The Cely Papers: A merchant family and crucial players in the wool trade between England and the Channel ports. This collection covers every aspect of their commercial dealings.

The Stoner Papers: A well-established gentry family in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire. These documents cover the longest time period of any of the collections and throw light on both business and domestic issues.

The Plumpton Papers: A dominant northern family. Their documents, which continue right through to the early 16th century, reveal a family entangled in the social and economic affairs of the region.

The Armburgh Papers: Primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance.
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
The Edward S Morse papers document the numerous and valuable contributions made by Morse (1838-1925) to the areas of malacology, zoology, ethnology, archaeology and art history. Morse was one of the 1st Americans to live in Japan. He devoted much of his life to documenting life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture. (Coverage: 1856-1925)

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Newspaper Collections
Use this link to explore more specific newspaper titles (e.g. historical, international)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.

ANTH 204 Intro to Social Science Research Methods in Anthropology

Find Sources

Subject & Multidisciplinary Databases

Padlet