Librarian
Video Projects
The following package of materials provides everything you need to get started designing your own video project and implement into your class. There is a mix of resources addressed to instructors, as well as links to student-facing resources. For help with customizing these materials for your own assignment, contact Amanda McCollom (amccoll@udel.edu).
For Instructors
- Instructor's Guide for Video AssignmentsTips for instructors to build a video project into their course; includes information about tools, Canvas resources, and a sample timeline for the assignment.
- Assigning and Assessing Multimodal ProjectsTips and resources about multimodal projects with a focus on assessment from Georgetown University.
- Evaluating Multimodal AssignmentsIncludes suggested grading criteria for a visual argument assignment.
- Digital Stories Sample RubricDetailed sample rubric for digital story project from Georgetown University
Canvas Module
Go to Canvas Commons and search “Library Resources for Multimedia Projects”; download and import into your Canvas course. This module contains separate pages for video projects, podcast projects, and graphic design projects. If your project is only audio-based, you can un-publish the other two pages. If your students can choose what they create, leave all pages published. Feel free to rename the module and customize content as needed.
For Students
**You will be asked to make a copy for all Google Doc/Slides materials. Instructors should remove or add questions to worksheets as needed. Create your own version of the worksheet and then change the end of the URL to /copy- this will allow students to create their own copies.**
Pre-plan
- Video Analysis Worksheet (Google Doc)Use if you will have students watch relevant films or examples of video projects that you want them to analyze.
- Digital Storytelling (Video)This video covers 5 stages of creating a digital story and highlights resources available through the Student Multimedia Design Center. Also available on the first page of the Video Projects guide and the "Library Resources for Multimedia Projects" Canvas module
Plan
- Video Project Proposal/Pitch (Google Doc)Includes planning questions for students to answer about the message/purpose, audience, content, structure and tone of their video projects. For group projects, questions about group dynamics and potential roles are included; can be removed if not relevant to your assignment.
- Multimedia Project Planning Worksheet (Google Doc)Includes questions to help students plan what images, videos, sounds, music, graphics, etc they will need to find or create for their video projects.
- UD Traditional Storyboard (Google Slides)Google Slides storyboard template; each slide represents a panel
- UD Vertical Storyboard (Google Doc)Vertical storyboard/outline; best for describing shots with text rather than images
- Storyboard (Video Guide Page)Contains additional storyboard templates and tools, and resources on how to create a storyboard
- Landscape Storyboard (PDF)Traditional storyboard template with 6 panels; best for printing and hand-drawing
Find
- Creative Commons (Video Guide Page)Overview of Creative Commons license conditions and attributions
- Find Images and Video (Video Guide Page)List of resources for finding Creative Commons and open-licensed images and videos
Record
- Video Production Basics (Video Guide Page)Overview of how to frame your shots, light your scenes, and capture crisp audio
- Tips for Creating Standout Multimedia Projects (Video)Topics covered include recording conditions, the basics of editing, using high resolution images, checking audio levels, pacing, and exporting your final project to the correct format. Also available on the Video Projects guide and the "Library Resources for Multimedia Projects" Canvas module
Edit
- iMovie (Video Guide Page)Includes quick links for to Apple's iMovie support pages
- Video Editing Software Guides and Tutorials (Video Guide Page)Includes links to LinkedIn Learning courses for video editing software and SMDC software guides available for download